Twice-Baked Shortbread

Oh my goodness. I can’t believe it has been years and years since I last baked shortbread. Shortbread is one of my favorite types of cookies. You can dip it in chocolate, roll it in sugar, make it in any shape you want, mix in nuts. . . the possibilities are endless. It is so easy and I typically have all of the ingredients on hand (butter, flour, sugar, salt, that’s it). I saw this recipe on Saturday and INSTANTLY started to work on it. Leaving it to sit out for 2 hour or more was a new method for me, as was the twice baked method. But DANG, these cookies are awesome. I think the second baking, not only crisps up the cookies but it also browns the butter to bring out an added nuttiness.  I brought a couple with me to work so that I could eat them with some tea for a mid afternoon snack. How European is that? Problem is, I want to eat them NOW!

Recipe for Twice-Baked Shortbread

2 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted October 7, 2008 at 12:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I saw this recipe too! I don’t think I’ve ever made shortbread but I love to eat it with coffee or tea!

  2. Posted October 7, 2008 at 11:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi elizabeth, just wanted to let you know that i posted your clutch project on the blog! Thanks!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

