Apple Cake

Sp apparently Smitten Kitchen is hitting my cravings right on the head lately – first, the shortbread, and now, this! We’re going out of town tomorrow and I had 6 gala apples that I was worried were going to go bad while we were gone. In steps this wonderful recipe, of which I had everything on hand (except the bunt cake form – I know! how do I not have one of those?). The cake came together pretty quickly – I left the apple skins on because 1- I’m lazy, 2- they’re good for you. The cake is good, although if i make it again, I’ll be adding a streusel topping – I felt like that was what was the only thing that was missing.

Recipe for Mom’s Apple Cake

6 Comments

  1. Marie Larkin
    Posted October 8, 2008 at 9:34 am | Permalink | Reply

    Looks real good & apples are always good for you.

  2. elliek
    Posted October 8, 2008 at 9:41 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yumm. I saved this recipe from Smitten Kitchen too, but there is not much cooking going on right now in the Kirkland house 😦

  3. Posted October 8, 2008 at 1:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    *drooling* Umm…yum.

  4. cooperella
    Posted October 9, 2008 at 12:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    mmm i tasted it, it was yummy! The recipe looks pretty easy too – I’m going to have to give it a try this fall!

  5. cooperella
    Posted October 9, 2008 at 12:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    oh and PS – i contest that remark you made above that you’re “lazy”….! =P

  6. Posted October 9, 2008 at 6:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

    What a lovely blog! Thanks so much for including Design^Sprout in your green blogroll. I’ll be back here often for tips!
    – Veronica
    http://www.designsprout.com

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

