Xavier Rudd: Food in the Belly

So Mindy introduced me to this guy through her ACL experience a couple weeks ago. Rudd sounds like Amos Lee, Ben Harper, Dave Matthews, Bob Marley, Jack Johnson, a touch of Damien Rice and probably more that I can’t think of right now. I can’t get over it. Xavier Rudd is a name to remember. A song from his newest CD, Dark Shades of Blue, is actually on the latest Paste CD and I would not have even recognized that it was him. This Australian seems to morph musical styles in each CD he releases.

Currently, after listening to several of his CDs over the past couple of days, this one is ranking in my favorites but then again, I haven’t listened to his two newest CDs, which seem to be on the more psychedelic side of music (which isn’t quite my bag). Food in the Belly is raw, heavy, honest, upbeat, just all around great. Some of the issues he covers in his song lyrics are deep and so intense but I didn’t even heard their depth until the 3rd or 4th listen as I was so wrapped up in the easy groove of the music. Overall, I think I’ll find myself defaulting to this CD to fit a multitude of moods.

I mean, what’s not to like about a man that can play the didjeridu and the guitar at the same time.

“And I’ll write you a letter
With everything I know
’bout the weight of the world
And the way things could go

So live up my friend
Step back again
For some things will be given
For some you’ll have to bend
You’ ll have to bend my friend
To hold on to this
For some things will come easy
And some will be a test
You’ll have to bend”

One Comment

  1. cooperella
    Posted October 9, 2008 at 12:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    yay, i’m glad you liked it so much! if you ever have the opportunity to see him perform, do it – he puts on a great show!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

