Tortilla Soup

This is probably one of my favorite recipes of all times. I know, that’s a big claim, but I have had this recipe for a couple of years now and I keep coming back to it. And then to top that claim, this tool may be my favorite tool in the kitchen – it makes the soup taste creamy and rich without a lick of cream in it. I take a few shortcuts with this recipe – I used canned items (because I’m lazy) and I don’t add chicken but really, IMO, what makes this soup are the toppings. Cheese, avocado, tortilla strips and cilantro (which I accidentally left off for the picture, oops), it doesn’t get any better than that. 🙂

Recipe for Tortilla Soup

5 Comments

  1. Marie Larkin
    Posted October 17, 2008 at 9:13 am | Permalink | Reply

    It looks delicious. I think I will make it tonight!

  2. Posted October 17, 2008 at 9:24 am | Permalink | Reply

    I use my hand held blender for EVERYTHING!! Well, not really, but I love it — it works so well for so much stuff, I hardly ever pull out my blender, I just use that one. 🙂

  3. elliek
    Posted October 17, 2008 at 9:37 am | Permalink | Reply

    I only have a regular blender 😦 However, it probably won’t be a problem for this one because I’ve never been a big fan of tortilla soup (weird since I grew up in Mexico!)

  4. Posted October 17, 2008 at 10:01 am | Permalink | Reply

    I still make this one every once in a while too. I LOVE it.

  5. Elizabeth
    Posted October 17, 2008 at 10:05 am | Permalink | Reply

    Dar, I was trying to remember whether or not I used to make this back in college! I guess so, and now that I think of it, I think I remember trying to blend the soup in that blender with the plastic lid that used to warp every time it heated up from the soup. There were a few soup spewing incidents that I remember with this soup!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

