Maker Faire

When I signed up to attend Maker Faire, I wasn’t really sure what I was getting myself into. I thought it was going to be a crafty haven for girls like me. Oh wow, were we in for a surprise. There were some crazy things that were going on, including metal working, glass blowing, robot wars, catapults, an eco-car exhibit (of homemade electric cars), rocket launches, a ring of fire and I’m sure some things that I couldn’t even describe if I tried (although I might try with the pictures below). I’m thinking the best way to describe Maker Faire is a crafty carnival on some tecnological crack.

Even though we were a bit visually overloaded by the many tents (and barn) initially, Amanda, Ellie and I spent most of our fun-filled craft packed day browsing the crafty booths! There were some incredible vendors, some local, some from far away (like Portland!) but all of them had some great items or great ideas to share with us.

There were many bizarre sites to see, for example, this life size Mouse Trap (like the game you used to play when you were little?).

An of course, the interesting car redesigns. This one (The Sashimi Tabernacle Choir) had performing singing lobster and fish. They were singing Handel’s Halleluia Chorus when we walked by. (!!!)

This, is a car covered in yard. The license plate was ‘YARN’, how appropriate. The guy that owns this car was touching up the yard on the front hood. Apparently, yarn doesn’t stay put when you drive. Who knew?

Um. ? A bicycle powered. . . fish skeleton? We followed it around for a while trying to get a shot of this creation.

We met a lady adamant on educating the world about Shrinky Dink plastic. It’s really just number 6 plastic (like what your strawberries come in at the grocery store). You can use sand paper to rough up the plastic, (or not and use sharpies) and draw with colored pencils. Insert in the oven at 325 and watch closely as your creation shrinks up. Here are my earrings that I made:

And Singer had a booth were you could make a lunch bag. I was impressed with the fabric they offered and how awesome their machines were! Now I want a Singer! I’m excited to finally have a lunch bag. This will be making an appearance at work soon.

Here we are after a long, crafty day. 🙂 Fun times!

9 Comments

  1. kaylebug
    Posted October 19, 2008 at 2:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hey Beth! That mouse trap thing is quite interesting… Haha. Oh and the car was pretty neat! Were all of the lobsters and fish singing? I’ve seen singing fish, but not lobsters. Oh and congrats on having your blog put up on another site!! That’s pretty cool!!
    🙂

  2. Posted October 19, 2008 at 4:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    How fun!

  3. elliek
    Posted October 19, 2008 at 7:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It was such a fun day!

  4. Marie Larkin
    Posted October 20, 2008 at 9:01 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow!! What fun.

  5. AJ
    Posted October 20, 2008 at 9:17 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hey! There’s a ‘Singer Esteem’ machine on sale at Target for $99. I have no clue if it’s a good one, but thought I’d give you the head’s up…..

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted October 20, 2008 at 1:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Not sure if it’s a good one either! The price is good though! For now, I’ve got to stick it out with my Janome machine. The Singer machines I REALLY liked were over $400. . . I don’t have that kind of money, especially when my sewing machine mostly works. 🙂 I’ve figured out how to gerry-rig the machine to work when it freaks out now!

  7. Posted October 21, 2008 at 9:34 am | Permalink | Reply

    Jeaaaaalous. I wanted to go, but I was in Tyler. Perhaps next year. But then – that’s what I said last year. Did y’all get all the grounds covered in just one day?

  8. Elizabeth
    Posted October 21, 2008 at 9:38 am | Permalink | Reply

    We did the best we could to cover the grounds while we were there. We didn’t spend a whole lot of time in some of the areas. . .

  9. Posted October 23, 2008 at 4:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    that yarn car is pretty dang cool.

One Trackback

  1. By Maker Faire « create on October 22, 2008 at 7:22 am

    […] more pics and stories from the day, check out Beth’s blog or Amanda’s blog. Explore posts in the same categories: […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

