Blue Screen of Death

We got the blue screen of death last night on our PC desktop which means: no pictures. It’s time to get rid of that piece of crap computer. We’re transitioning to a Macbook Pro right now (which we should have by tomorrow) otherwise I would be posting about some delicious lasagna and a fantastic sewing project that I finished this weekend. Instead, I’m going to ramble on and recap about my quest for affordable, recyclable, socially responsible, non-toxic beauty items for just a bit.

I still love the homemade deodorant that I’ve been using for three months now. It’s amazing that you can make something that is so effective! We’ve almost finished up our Yes to Carrots shampoo and conditioner (and I’ve loved it – it smells so delicious!) and I’m going to give the Jason products a chance now (they’re about the same price, but the Jason products are made in the USA which gives it a smaller carbon footprint than the Yes to Carrots, which is made in the Netherlands – I think?). Yes to Carrots is sold at the Walgreens by my house, but the Jason products are sold at HEB, which means that there is one less trip for me to take! I’m pretty pleased with the Jason face wash, scrub, toner and moisturizer that I ordered awhile back. It does take some getting used to a face wash that doesn’t lather. . . but I like it a lot now, it cleans without striping my face of all the oils. I really want to try out this Kiehl’s Aloe Vera Biodegradable Liquid Body Cleaner (it’s the first beauty product to be cradle to cradle certified) but our Suave body wash just won’t run out!

I am also in the process of switching to Tom’s of Maine toothpaste as it doesn’t have some of the scary chemicals as traditional toothpaste. I got the OK from my dentist on this, so I feel comfortable with the switch. 🙂 It does taste a bit different. . . not near as minty but it gets the job done without ingesting freaky chemicals.

I am currently using my samples of Everyday Minerals everyday (wow, that was repetitive sounding) and I really like it. After payday I’m going to buy the full set with some brushes. Then I’m going to trash all of the makeup crap that’s living under my sink. It’s long overdue! I’m excited about getting a few eye shadow colors. Currently, I’m just using a concealer that was just a bit too pearlescent to use as a concealer. I would also like to purchase Honeybee Gardens Truly Natural Mascara. It’s not cheap like what I’m used to ($5) but it’s still ONLY $10 (which is cheap when compared to $20-50 mascaras out there that claim to be natural)! Again. . . waiting for that payday. . .

Do you guys know of any affordable, healthy products for guys? I’d like to see if we could find some good shaving cream/lotion and after shave for Jason. I’m sure between Burt’s Bees and the Jason products, there’s got to be something good out there!

6 Comments

  1. Jasonius
    Posted October 20, 2008 at 1:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    In case any of the computer nerds are thinking that it’s “just a blue screen, get over it”, I figured I would mention that said blue screen is coming up WHILE THE COMPUTER IS BOOTING. This thing already had tons of issues, then Windows decided to automatically update to SP3 and now I can’t recover anything. It wouldn’t even boot up in Safe Mode. How crappy is that?

  2. elliek
    Posted October 20, 2008 at 1:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Sorry about the bluescreen issues – we went through that about a year ago – yuck!

    I have been using the Jason conditioner and I like it. The one I got smells a little like baby oil, but I don’t mind it. Yesterday, Jeremy bought the Jason deoderant (I asked him if he wanted me to just make him some, but he declined). We looked at several that were alluminium free, and he chose the Jason because of all the ones we smelled, he thought it was the most manly 🙂 I’ll let you know how that goes!

  3. kaylebug
    Posted October 20, 2008 at 8:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I recently went through the blue screening, as you well know. No fun at all.

  4. Posted October 22, 2008 at 5:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You will love, love, love your mac. I tried the jason toothpaste and didn’t like it, i especially didn’t like hearing my husband complain about it. But I can’t get enough of the Melaluca mint tooth polish. It feels cleaner than the other natural toothpastes out there! Just thought i would share!

  5. Posted October 22, 2008 at 5:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    …I am sorry i meant toms toothpaste not jasons

  6. Posted November 23, 2008 at 8:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Elizabeth,

    So glad you’ve been enjoying Yes to Carrots shampoo and conditioner. Thanks for the shout-out!

    Would love to send you some free samples as a thank you.

    Here’s the form

    http://tinyurl.com/5fqgmn

    Let me know if you have any questions.

    Jeremy

    carrotattache@yestocarrots.com

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

