Another Diaper Bag!

This bag is the first of a couple items I’m making for a friend of mine that is expecting her first (a boy!) in December. It is the Modern Diaper Bag from Amy Butler’s new book, Little Stitches (which Ellie kindly let me borrow). It was a lot of fun to sew, and again, Amy Butler’s instructions are pretty clear. This was my first time to use a magnetic snap and it’s very easy to install. I’ll be using them again in the future. I was a bit confused on the pleats for the interior pockets but figured it out after reading it several times. And I’ve got to say, DANG those pockets are HUGE! I would say the hardest thing about assembling this bag is 1 – cutting out all the fabric, 2 – ironing on all the interfacing and 3 – the very last step of folding in and sewing of the 1/2″ seam allowance on the interior of both handles (they’re left undone so you can turn the back right side out). Oh yeah, I left out the cell phone pocket because the one review I read about this pattern had said that she thought it looked like it was added as an after thought. . . I agreed. I think there are enough pockets in this bag that a cell phone pocket isn’t absolutely necessary.

I am completely going to make this bag again soon!

21 Comments

  1. Posted October 22, 2008 at 10:30 am | Permalink | Reply

    So cute!!

  2. Posted October 22, 2008 at 10:37 am | Permalink | Reply

    That is awesome!!! So cute!

  3. elliek
    Posted October 22, 2008 at 10:44 am | Permalink | Reply

    WOW! That looks great and you just whipped it out! And it is so Krista! I can’t wait to see how yours turns out…since you’re not making it as a diaper bag, are you going to do the interior pockets the same? So, you’re totally giving Krista the best present(s) ever! I’m not sure I can even show up to the shower without whatever sad store bought gift I end up getting…:( But seriosly, it looks awesome!

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted October 22, 2008 at 10:52 am | Permalink | Reply

    Whipped it out. Hahahahaha! This bag took me longer than any of the others I’ve worked on, if only because of the cutting and ironing. The bag sewing construction itself was very easy – I’m sure you could finish it up quickly too!

    For the one I’m doing for me, I haven’t decided on the pockets yet. They are super huge. I’m thinking this bag would be something of an airplane carry on bag for me, so the big pockets could be helpful. . .

  5. kaylebug
    Posted October 22, 2008 at 12:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love it! It definitely has Krista written all over it. haha. I’m looking forward to seeing the bag you make.

  6. Marie Larkin
    Posted October 22, 2008 at 1:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That is so nice and very useful! She will love it. Lots of moms will want that when they see it.

  7. Posted October 22, 2008 at 5:38 pm | Permalink | Reply

    SO CUTE! love all those pouches…those will be SO useful 🙂

  8. Elizabeth
    Posted October 22, 2008 at 10:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks ladies!

  9. Posted October 23, 2008 at 9:38 am | Permalink | Reply

    You did a great job — and I love the fabric! I have this book too and thought this would be a great tote with a few changes to the inside!

  10. Elizabeth
    Posted October 23, 2008 at 9:43 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love the fabric too! It’s the exact fabric that they show the bag in, in the book. 🙂 I’d love to know what changes you make to the interior if you end up making it. I’m thinking I might make the pockets a bit flatter. . .

  11. Posted October 23, 2008 at 11:22 am | Permalink | Reply

    Zippers…that is the next thing you need to try…inside the bag. Oh yes! 🙂

  12. Elizabeth
    Posted October 23, 2008 at 11:29 am | Permalink | Reply

    Zippers! Good idea. . . although a bit scary. 🙂

  13. Posted October 23, 2008 at 4:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I have a good friend expecting her first too. you should make her a bag.

  14. elliek
    Posted October 31, 2008 at 8:27 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hey, you should write a review on Sew Mama Sew!

  15. Posted October 31, 2008 at 8:50 am | Permalink | Reply

    I should write a review. . . oh if I only had the time this week!

  16. Claire
    Posted November 4, 2008 at 4:49 pm | Permalink | Reply

    uhhhm, can I beg (and pay) you to make one of those (plus the matching changing pad) for a friend of mine? I’ve already got fabric in mind……she’s not due til May, but I just wondered. I’m already getting excited about it – and she was commenting on some fabric she liked the other day…just lemme know how much a set like that might run me. (:

  17. Posted November 8, 2008 at 7:54 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow! Good job. I’m about to start this exact project tonight and thought I’d search online to see what other people thought of the pattern. Yours is very nice. Looking forward to trying it out. Your blog is great. Love your photos!

  18. Elizabeth
    Posted November 8, 2008 at 8:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you Linda! I think you’ll enjoy sewing this one!

  19. juliana
    Posted December 29, 2008 at 4:31 am | Permalink | Reply

    The bag came out great. I am making this one too (waiting for my fabric to come) and am excited about the bag…but not the handles lol. if you have any advice before getting started on this one I’d love to hear it 🙂

  20. Posted April 22, 2009 at 6:53 am | Permalink | Reply

    It look great! I’m trying to decide between the two in the book. They both scare me though because they both seem a bit hard for me.

    Yours is so beautiful though I’ve got to at least try. Wish me luck!

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 22, 2009 at 9:01 am | Permalink | Reply

      Really, the hardest part is cutting everything out and ironing all of the interfacing together – there are so many layers! The rest comes together pretty quickly. The handles are a bit of a challenge too, but I’m sure you’ll do great! Good luck!

5 Trackbacks

  1. […] pad, Modern Diaper Bag |   I finished up the diaper changing pad to go along with the Modern Diaper Bag for my friend. It was pretty quick to sew together although I had to quilt it. . . I always think […]

  2. […] Crafts, Sewing |   So the couple of surprise items I added to my stash (which included the diaper bag, diaper changing pad and baby sling) for my friend’s baby shower were […]

  3. By Baby Shower Gifts! « create on November 11, 2008 at 11:39 am

    […] amazing items for the shower! You have to go check them out! She made bibs and blocks, ab awesine diaper bag, a baby sling, and a diaper changing […]

  4. […] | Tags: Amy Butler, Anna Maria Horner, baby, Crafts, Modern Diaper Bag, Sewing |   I made another one of Amy Butler’s Modern Diaper Bag’s from Little Stitches (which I am no longer […]

  5. […] | Tags: Amy Butler, Anna Maria Horner, baby, Crafts, Modern Diaper Bag, Sewing |   I made another one of Amy Butler’s Modern Diaper Bag’s from Little Stitches (which I am no longer […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

