Chicken with Creamy Spinach and Shallots

In an effort to cut down on the grocery bills and just simplify life in general, I tried out this recipe. I found this recipe while waiting for an appointment and it intrigued me enough that I jotted it down on a piece of scrap paper I had in my purse. It has fewer ingredients than most of the meals I cook and chicken thighs tend to be very cheap (which lets me buy them organic!). Now, I made this on a night when Jason was out and I didn’t have the camera, so you’ll have to settle for the stock image from Real Simple’s website. Mine turned out very similar to the picture.

I thought the meal was good. Not as fantastic as other things I cook, but good. I love dark meat chicken (I know, it’s not as healthy, but it’s cheap!) and the crispy skin was a delicious treat (another thing that’s not healthy, I know). The spinach had an upscale taste to it, which I think was in part from the wine and in part from the sophistication of the shallots. I didn’t think the spinach tasted particularly ‘creamy’. I kept thinking cream cheese may have been a better ‘creamy’ component to the dish, but the sour cream was fine. Jason had this reheated for lunch last week and told me that he really enjoyed it! He asked, “what did you do to the chicken and spinach to make it so tasty?” which made me feel pretty good! 😀

Recipe for Chicken with Creamy Spinach and Shallot

7 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted October 27, 2008 at 12:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It’s so nice when our husbands say nice things like that about our cooking! I’m cooking thighs this week too!

  2. Marie Larkin
    Posted October 27, 2008 at 12:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think you are right – low fat cream cheese might even make it creamer. I think I will try it that way & let you know.

  3. Posted October 27, 2008 at 2:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    boo, stock photos. but the food looks good.

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted October 27, 2008 at 2:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yeah, I know. . . I’ll make it again and swap the photo. Jason had the camera that night and I had no way of taking a photo. 😦

  5. Posted October 28, 2008 at 1:55 am | Permalink | Reply

    Looks tasty, although I would probably try it with white meat out of preference.

  6. Marie Larkin
    Posted October 30, 2008 at 10:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    I tried the cream cheese & it was really good & creamy.

  7. Posted October 30, 2008 at 11:13 am | Permalink | Reply

    Sounds delicious – I’ll try it that way next time!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

