Aquarelle

A couple Tuesdays ago, Jason and I took advantage of Restaurant Week and tried out a restaurant we otherwise would not have tried because of price constraints. The fixed price menu during Restaurant Week was just the key. Sadly, we didn’t think to take our camera in to take pictures of the beautiful and delicious food that we had.

I had the Warm Green Pea Soup with potato compote, crispy prosciutto, beet vinaigrette and chive cream as an appetizer and it was amazing. Not something that I would think to make on my own and just beautiful. For my main course I had something that wasn’t shown originally on the website as a menu option: the Pan Seared Lamb Chops with lamb stock reduction, mint oil, sweet potato mash and tomato compote. Oh my goodness. I love lamb. This just confirmed how MUCH I love lamb. Yum yum yum. I also love sweet potatoes . . . it was just amazing how perfect my meal was.

Jason had crumbled Goats Cheese Salad with tomatoes, green beans, walnuts, apples, bell peppers in a Dijon mustard and balsamic vinaigrette for an appetizer and it was very tasty (of course I had to have a couple bites). For the main course, he had the Sauteed Sea Scallops with mixed vegetable julienne, fried shoestring potatoes and garlic cream sauce, chili oil. They were good, but the lamb was better. 🙂

And for dessert both of us had Profiteroles au Chocolat – Puff pastries filled with rum coffee ice cream and hot chocolate sauce. Perfect dessert to end the meal off with.

We really enjoyed our experience at Aquarelle – it was leaps and bounds better than our experience at Chez Nous (one of the other French restaurants in town). The setting was quaint, the food was artful and delicious (and outside of what I know how to make in my own home, which is the only time eating out feels worth it), and the service was excellent. I would highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion if you’re willing to spend the money. Fantastique!

2 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted November 2, 2008 at 5:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Sounds amazing! I remember how much you like lamb!

  2. Katie
    Posted December 5, 2008 at 8:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I loved eating there as well! Kevin and I catered the owners wedding reception at TCA…only because he likes us so much! They had the best French Onion soup…of course, it WAS made with duck stock. Delicious!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

