Flaky Dinner Rolls

My parents came in town this weekend and we had a mini Thanksgiving dinner on Saturday night. My mom brought the turkey and pumpkin pie and I made buttermilk mashed potatoes, honey orange carrots, dinner rolls and egg nog ice cream to top of the meal. The dinner rolls turned out so beautiful, I think they may be the perfect dinner rolls for a fancy dinner! They were fairly easy to make and for the effort involved, the final product was amazing! They turn out all swirly by a simple folding technique. It really isn’t very difficult at all.

And a side note on Egg Nog ice cream. . . if you think about what egg nog is made out of (eggs, cream, sugar) it is essentially already an ice cream base! I just took some store bought egg nog (Horizon Low Fat) and put it in the ice cream maker with a little bit of fresh grated nutmeg. The result was pretty amazing with very little work! It was a great accompaniment to a yummy pumpkin pie!

Recipe for Flaky Dinner Rolls

4 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted November 3, 2008 at 1:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    ahh flaky dinner rolls! I love bread! I’m putting these on my list!

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted November 3, 2008 at 1:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think I ate about half of the batch I made (it only makes 12 which is nice). . . 🙂

  3. Claire
    Posted November 4, 2008 at 4:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow. I’m so jealous. I love thanksgiving food….and the eggnog ice cream sounds amazing, seriously. I don’t know how you stay skinny, beth. (:

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted November 4, 2008 at 5:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hmmm . . . the word ‘skinny’ is pretty subjective. 🙂 Thanks Claire!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

