Terrarium!

Remember how I said that I wanted to make some of these plant creations I saw while in Portland? Well, while I was camping last weekend, I found moss. I dug it up and took it home with me. I’m not sure if that’s illegal. . . hmm. . .

Anyways, I put together the beginnings of my terrarium this weekend! I’m planning on doing a dry terrarium with some bromeliads and succulents, but I’m starting with the moss and the rocks (the rocks are from Canon Beach!). The layers of the terrarium are, from the bottom up, rocks, aquarium charcoal (to neutralize odors), sphagnum moss (or peet moss) and then sterilized potting soil. Essentially, you have to set up a nice drainage system since moss doesn’t like water to sit on it’s roots (neither do other dry loving plants). I’m pretty excited to see how this all grows in! I think I’ll be making several of these since they do best with indirect sunlight and that is all my living room gets!

4 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted November 4, 2008 at 8:45 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yay! It’s so cute!

  2. Posted November 4, 2008 at 1:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Very cool… do you keep it watered with a spray-mister thingy, or do you actually pour water on it?

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted November 4, 2008 at 1:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Spray mister thingy – I read somewhere that it’s better for the plants . . .

  4. Posted July 21, 2009 at 3:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    i love what you did with the rocks!
    you may want to consider putting a lid on it. mosses do very well in closed terrariums, as these maintain a high level of humidity which mosses enjoy (assuming you took the moss off soil in a shadowy location, not off a rock – moss that comes off rocks does best in dry conditions with more sunlight).
    making terrariums is addictive. i’ve made around 10 or so now, with varying levels of success, and recently found an amazing store that sells uniquely shaped glass containers of all shapes and sizes, so i’ll be making a lot more soon!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

