Turkey Pot Pie

So, since my mom brought a turkey for us to eat on Saturday night, I have tons and tons of leftover turkey to make delicious food with. My first thought was to make a turkey pot pie with the leftover mashed potato crust (sprinkled with Parmesan!). I love potato crusts on pot pies – I used to eat the Swanson’s pot pies with the potato crust back my freshman year of college. Bad nutritionals on those suckers but dang, they were satisfying. Well, the nutritionals on this recipe are much better. I forgot to pick up sour cream at the grocery store but I subbed neufchatel cheese and it turned out fantastic. Decadent, warming, perfect for the fall weather. I highly recommend this recipe to help pair down your turkey leftovers after Thanksgiving (although, next time I make this, I’m swapping out the pearl onions for regular chopped onions)!

Recipe for Turkey Pot Pie

4 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted November 5, 2008 at 10:13 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love pot pie! And I also love potatoes. I would agree with the pearl onions – I don’t really like them. It looks so cozy!

  2. cooperella
    Posted November 5, 2008 at 1:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    oh wow, that looks delicious!!! If I do turkey this year I’ll definately try this out.

    it’s so interesting to me that “pot pies” everywhere else are actually IN a pot and look like a pie. I grew up on the pennsylvania dutch version, which is basically thick square noodles in the brothy filling (like this http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art6854.asp). random aside, I know… 🙂

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted November 5, 2008 at 1:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That’s so funny! I had no idea that there was another type of pot pie that existed. . . thanks for sharing!

  4. Posted November 6, 2008 at 12:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Elizabeth, I’m sure you received our e-mail announcing our latest recipe contest… but I thought I’d hit you up anyway since your pot pie seems like the ultimate comfort food! We’d love to have you enter a recipe. The prize is a big one!

    http://marxfood.com

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

