Baby Sling

It seems that these baby slings at the hot accessory for moms to have now. I see them everywhere and they cost upwards of $75!!! It blows my mind that such a simple item could be sold at such a high price! I think I ended up spending maybe $40 on all the supplies and that was enough to make two slings. There are tons of free patterns for slings on the web but I choose to buy a pattern at Mamma’s Milk. The patterns that are available for free often use the sturdy ring method, which at first thought sounded great, but then I thought about the potential for the fabric to slip THROUGH the ring and thought a fixed size sling sounded much more secure! This pattern required 2 yards of fabric and just a couple hours of time. It was a very simple sew. First time sewers could probably handle this one without any problem at all!

There are two options on the website and I ended up making the reversible sling with leg padding for my friend – it seems a little more versatile. It doesn’t really look like much when you lay it out on a table and take a picture of it. Maybe I’ll post another picture once my friend has her baby and she can model it as it was fully intended to look! 🙂

6 Comments

  1. Posted November 10, 2008 at 9:20 am | Permalink | Reply

    My son, who’s now 5, was a sling baby all the way! The slings we used the most during his first year were purchased ring slings, and the fabric didn’t slip at all. When I sewed my first sling, I didn’t sew a ring sling because I was worried about the strength of the rings! So I also went for the pouch style, and although it was great, it was a bit long for me so our nanny used it until my son was too big.

    Your friend will love hers, esp. with the lovely fabric!

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted November 10, 2008 at 9:42 am | Permalink | Reply

    Good to know the ring slings are sturdier than I thought. I’ve found two places to purchase rings specifically for slings online and may buy some for future gifting use!

  3. Posted November 13, 2008 at 12:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You see, this is why I shouldn’t take a break from blog reading… I miss great stuff like this!! One thing I wish I had done with Eden was make a sling, because it would have been SO handy.

    Now that we’re expecting #2, this is the website of my dreams. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted November 13, 2008 at 1:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Sheri – Oh my gosh!!! Congratulations! That’s so exciting!

  5. Posted December 26, 2008 at 2:01 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hey! It’s been awhile since I stopped by (sorry) but I discovered this post while looking up info on sewing baby slings. Did your friend like this one? Did it last? Was it safe?

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted December 27, 2008 at 4:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Well, she just started using it last week, so I can’t say if it has ‘lasted’ yet! She does like it so far, although the sizing on Mama’s Milk seems to run a bit small – her son can’t lay down in it, he can only do the ‘tummy to tummy’ set up. I have extra fabric so I’m going to make her another sling one size up. That could be something to keep in mind if you go with this pattern. As far as I can tell it’s very safe – the one seam is triple reinforced.

2 Trackbacks

  1. […] to pay shipping. I am contemplating switching the 3rd square over to the blue fabric I used to make my friend’s baby sling. I think I have enough scrap of that left over to get three 4.5″ squares out of. . . what do […]

  2. […] of surprise items I added to my stash (which included the diaper bag, diaper changing pad and baby sling) for my friend’s baby shower were […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

