Pumpkin Spice Bundt Cake with Buttermilk Icing

I always thought summer was my favorite time for seasonal flavors (think garden ripened tomatoes, basil, watermelon, yellow squash, zucchini), but I am finding that I really love fall flavors. . .pumpkin, earthy spices, butternut squashes, apples, citrus, stews, soups . . . it’s all the season for these things. And this cake? It embodies the fall season.

My coworker was kind enough to loan me her beautiful bundt pan so that I could make this tasty concoction for the baby shower I went to yesterday afternoon. The mom-to-be enjoys pumpkin flavored treats so it lead me to this recipe (which has many good reviews on epicurious). The cake was simple to make and beautiful with little fuss (which is my favorite way to make a dessert). The batter. . . ooo this cake almost didn’t make it to the oven. It tasted like pumpkin mousse. It was difficult to not lick the entire bowl. Salmonella anyone?

I am tempted to go out and buy a bundt pan now so that I can continue making effortless beautiful cakes. I am not much of a froster, but much more of a drizzler or fruit topper, so a bundt pan could be a welcome addition to my baking repertoire. 🙂

Recipe for Pumpkin Spice Bundt Cake with Buttermilk Icing

9 Comments

  1. Posted November 9, 2008 at 2:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    oh no you didn’t!
    shoot, beth. that photo hits the spot. gah, that looks good. if that cake disappears…..i didn’t take it. lol.

    seriously. it’s a crime to look that delicious. my mouth is watering bigtime.

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted November 9, 2008 at 3:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Come over! You can eat the leftovers! 🙂

  3. elliek
    Posted November 9, 2008 at 9:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I can testify – this was so yummy! I loved it! In fact, it’s a good thing they put it away because I was ready to go eat another piece!

  4. Posted November 9, 2008 at 9:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That looks SO good!

  5. Posted November 10, 2008 at 10:31 am | Permalink | Reply

    mmm. hey, so sarah and i were talking about our winter break, and talked about maybe coming to austin the week of your b-day. maybe… you’ll have baked some awesome cake for your birthday ..you know that I can join in to eat in celebration.

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted November 10, 2008 at 10:40 am | Permalink | Reply

    That sounds like funny Jonny! Let us know if you do end up coming in town – we’ll plan something fun. 🙂

  7. Jasonius
    Posted November 10, 2008 at 11:10 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m pretty sure Beth just said “that sounds like funny Jonny”

  8. Elizabeth
    Posted November 10, 2008 at 11:12 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oh hush, you know I meant to say ‘Sounds like fun Jonny.’

  9. kaylebug
    Posted November 10, 2008 at 1:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    that cake was sooo yummy!!

One Trackback

  1. […] it for a couple weeks. There are just somethings that I get a little too excited about, like pretty bundt pans (thanks mom for getting me a pretty bundt pan for Christmas, I need to make a cake soon!) and this […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

