Infant Bibs and Blocks

So the couple of surprise items I added to my stash (which included the diaper bag, diaper changing pad and baby sling) for my friend’s baby shower were these:

The bib pattern is free and came from Chickpea Sewing Studios, and the blocks, well they were inspired from Amy Butler’s Little Stitches, but simplified tremendously. I taught myself how to slip stitch with these blocks! 🙂 I also didn’t use foam blocks, as the instructions called for. Those would have made the corners much crisper! But I’m happy with the soft fabric blocks as they will probably be very appropriate for an infant.

9 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted November 10, 2008 at 9:50 am | Permalink | Reply

    I wish I could have seen the bibs up close, but they are super cute! I also love the blocks – they were a lot bigger than I imagined they’d be!

  2. Posted November 10, 2008 at 11:38 am | Permalink | Reply

    Again, adorable. Where do you get the great fabric?

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted November 10, 2008 at 11:44 am | Permalink | Reply

    Well, a variety of places. JoAnne’s, Hobby Lobby and Hancocks don’t really carry much that I really LOVE but they have the essential solids and interfacings.

    The fabrics in all of the baby stuff I just made is all Amy Butler.

    I follow a couple designers who put out great fabric: Amy Butler (probably one of the most well known), Anna Maria Horner, Joel Dewberry, Heather Bailey, Alexander Henry . . . etc. You can find fabrics like that at Craft-o-Rama here in Austin, or order them online at etsy shops, J Caroline Creative, Repot Depot. . . True Up has fabric sale Sundays on her blog which are great for finding fabric sale codes. . . etc.

    You gonna start sewing again?

  4. Posted November 10, 2008 at 1:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Maybe someday I’ll get a machine and you can teach me how to sew cute things.

    Then again, that’s probably just another thing that would sit around my house and never get touched or learned – like my guitar.

  5. Posted November 10, 2008 at 2:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m so excited to get your old machine at the end of the month! I will definitely start sewing again. I’m already thinking about purses and looking at the ones you made.

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted November 10, 2008 at 2:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Claire – They’re pretty inexpensive on craigslist if you really want to try it out!

    Jenn – Thanks for the reminder! I need to pull it out of the closet and put it somewhere where I will remember to take it with me to book club! It won’t hurt to send me an e-mail the day before book club just to remind me. 🙂

  7. jesse
    Posted November 10, 2008 at 3:13 pm | Permalink | Reply

    love it – looks like something that is simple and fun to sew!

  8. Posted November 10, 2008 at 3:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Can do! I don’t think I will forget – I’m looking forward to it too much!

  9. Krista
    Posted November 12, 2008 at 11:15 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hey friend! Wow! Thanks so much again for all of the great stuff! It was so much fun opening it all… but it is funny to me how much fun it is reading about it on your blog! =) You and Ellie are amazing! Thanks for all of the time you put into it all!

One Trackback

  1. By Baby Shower Gifts! « create on November 11, 2008 at 7:38 am

    […] point that Beth made some amazing items for the shower! You have to go check them out! She made bibs and blocks, ab awesine diaper bag, a baby sling, and a diaper changing […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

