Homemade Soft Pretzels

I can’t go to malls for the fear of smelling the soft pretzels they have baking there and drowning in butter. I will compulsively go to the stand and buy 4 pretzels and eat them all. Back to back. It’s bad. Then I found this recipe. Ooohh my goodness, these pretzels are amazing. I ate two of them back to back the other night and they are not NEAR as bad for you as the ones in the malls but they are just as delicious (if not more so)! I’m sure you could do a little butter on these suckers and they would be even better, but I liked them as they were so I skipped the butter drenching. I think the secret is in the pre-cooking in boiling water with baking soda before baking them in the oven. That MUST be why they are so delicious.

I froze what we didn’t eat because they rewarm perfectly in the oven whenever I want a salty snack. 🙂

Recipe for Soft Pretzels

7 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted November 11, 2008 at 8:55 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oooh! Good idea! And it looks just like a pretzel! I might have to try this!

  2. Jasonius
    Posted November 11, 2008 at 11:16 am | Permalink | Reply

    These are so tasty. I don’t even like pretzels and I couldn’t get enough. Last night I kept trying to get her to reheat more of them but she wouldn’t 🙂

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted November 11, 2008 at 11:27 am | Permalink | Reply

    You can have one tonight! 🙂

  4. Posted November 11, 2008 at 12:44 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yummmmmmmmmmm. You just amaze me daily.

  5. Posted November 13, 2008 at 12:27 am | Permalink | Reply

    OMG! I canNOT believe there is a homemade recipe for THESE. I am a soft pretzel NUT. I LOOOOOVE them. I pretty much want to eat that photo. 😀

  6. Posted November 13, 2008 at 12:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh. my. goodness. I think Heaven must be full of soft pretzels, don’t you?

  7. Elizabeth
    Posted November 13, 2008 at 1:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yes, definitely. 🙂 Glad to know I’m not alone in my pretzel love!

One Trackback

  1. […] Kitchen. I thought the method of salting was very appealing (I love salt, a lot, remember the pretzels? I wasn’t kidding about how much I love those) and sounded like a good way to spend less […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

