Gucci Steak with Garlic Herb Butter

I have been wanting to try this recipe for awhile. Ever since I signed up to be a tester for Steamy Kitchen. I thought the method of salting was very appealing (I love salt, a lot, remember the pretzels? I wasn’t kidding about how much I love those) and sounded like a good way to spend less money to get a good tasting piece of meat, and really, who doesn’t love a hunk of melting garlic herb butter melting over their steak. Yum! I used the leafy tops of some fennel, basil and parsley as the herbs in my butter. I served it with roasted asparagus and buttermilk mashed potatoes. It made for a very nice ‘date night in’ meal. The meat was perfectly flavored even without the butter – it was salted all the way through but not over-salted one bit. I’m excited because I think my mom may be trying the salting method for the turkey for Thanksgiving this year. If the steak is any indicator of how good it’s going to be, this is going to be one delicious Thanksgiving!

Recipe for Gucci Steak with Garlic Herb Butter

6 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted November 12, 2008 at 9:44 am | Permalink | Reply

    Looks marvelous!I e-mailed Jeremy the steamy kitchen link so he could check it out (he’s really into grilling these days!).

  2. Posted November 12, 2008 at 10:06 am | Permalink | Reply

    Love it! Thanks for the shoutout.
    Tell Mom when salting the turkey, use kosher salt and salt liberally inside and outside the turkey – not too much, b/c remember your gravy has salt – but just enough to season all over. Refrigerate for 1-2 days, then rinse, pat dry. If she can sneak over to a bookstore, tell her pick up the book Zuni Cafe and just read the 2 pages where the chef talks about salting chicken.

  3. Jasonius
    Posted November 12, 2008 at 10:50 am | Permalink | Reply

    The food was good, the date night with my beautiful wife was great!

  4. Posted November 12, 2008 at 2:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    So…now you’re making me look bad. When Chance gets home from work and reads this…allllll he’s gonna do is wonder why I never cook steak. Lol. Maybe I’ll just have to try…

  5. Elizabeth
    Posted November 12, 2008 at 2:48 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Ellie – I think Jeremy would love this method! Are y’all still working through all the steaks in your freezer?

    Jaden (Steamy Kitchen): Thanks for the tips! Mom, did you read that? 🙂

    Jason: It was a good date night, I love eating good food and having good conversation with you.

    Claire: Steak is really pretty quick to cook! I typically only buy one of good quality and then slice it into two portions so we don’t overeat. This time, after the salting process, I just seared it on either side in a skillet (in some butter and olive oil) and threw the skillet in the oven until it was cooked to medium. Maybe 15-20 minutes total for the cooking process! You should completely give it a try!

  6. Posted November 13, 2008 at 10:07 am | Permalink | Reply

    cool shot with the perspective and depth.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

