Red and Aqua Swap

So this was my first swap experience, and in all honesty, I didn’t really know what to expect. . . I had tons of questions, like how many items are appropriate (you have $20 to spend but do you go for quantity or quality?), how personalized do you make the gifts? . . . I finished up the last of my items last night to be shipped out today. I’ve seen a couple of other people’s swap items in the flickr pool and I’m not sure that my items measure up! I ended up with a total of six items, all made by me, although I wanted to have seven, but the last item (a business card holder/wallet) I made didn’t turn out the way I had hoped. . . in fact it was pretty crappy (I’m going to blame it on the pattern instructing me to put the velcro in the wrong place), so I left it out of the package (sorry Jessica). Other people seemed to have tons of little items (like pencils, ribbons, pens, candy) in their swap groupings. . . anything small they could find that was red/aqua that related to their swap buddy. I guess you trade the time you spend making items for the quantity? I’m not sure, but I sure hope my swap buddy enjoys her items and isn’t disappointed. . .

One of my unexpected favorites of this handmade package was the headband! I love the way it looks with the little aqua flower I embroidered – I wasn’t sure I was going to like how simple it turned out, but I love it! I’m going to have to make one for me to keep! The two paper items I designed, printed and assembled were a journal (with the quote “Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart.”) for jotting down crafty ideas, or recipe ideas and little customized A2 sized notecards with my swap buddy’s information on it. It was a pretty fun little swap and I think I would do another (after the holidays) now that I know more of what to expect!

6 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted November 13, 2008 at 10:19 am | Permalink | Reply

    I think everything turned out wonderfully! And I would much rather receive a few handmade items than a bunch of little things that were not handmade. Also, I have read on a couple of blogs about a business card holder that had the velcro in the wrong place – I bet it’s the same one! All your stuff looks great!

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted November 13, 2008 at 10:20 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you Ellie. 🙂 You made me feel a lot better. . . the business card holder was the Amy Butler free pattern. . . so be advised. . . that one is no good!

  3. Posted November 13, 2008 at 10:52 am | Permalink | Reply

    I agree with Ellie…the time and effort taken to actually make something is so much better than just plunking a bunch of stuff in a box…I think your gifts showed you took time to think about it and it gives a more personal touch! Nicely done!

  4. Posted November 13, 2008 at 11:35 am | Permalink | Reply

    Elizabeth – I totally cheated & just peaked!! After seeing what all you did, I feel like the stuff I sent you doesn’t measure up! Man, I’m not good at this. I LOVE it all. And, I’m totally a headband girl! Can’t wait to get it. The funniest thing, I made a wallet too, and it didn’t work because the velcro didn’t match up. I was soooo disappointed. I’m thinking we might have used the same pattern. If you figure out how to fix it, let me know.

  5. Posted November 13, 2008 at 12:57 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Beautiful work as always. 🙂

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted November 13, 2008 at 1:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Jessica – I’m bad at surprises so no worries about peaking! I’m so glad that you like the items! I was kinda stressing about it! I’m sure I’ll love whatever you send – I can’t wait to see it!

2 Trackbacks

  1. By Fall Swap « A Tisket A Tasket….. on November 20, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    […] little things. See my pictures below. Also I got some really cool stuff from my swap partner, Elizabeth. That girl is very crafty. I get great ideas from her all the time. Thanks, Elizabeth!!  I had a […]

  2. […] under Crafts, Random, Sewing | Tags: Crafts, Sewing, swap |   So last week, I received my craft swap goodies from my swap partner, Jessica. I have to say that I absolutely love everything that she […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

