‘Coq au Vin’ – Chicken with Wine

So this is one I’m reluctant to share just because it’s not very pretty. Actually it looks . . . kinda gross from the photo (notice that I made the photo smaller, in shame of what the finished product looks like. . . the chicken is almost purple from the red wine . . . ). And notice that ‘Coq au Vin’ is in quotes? Yeah, that’s because this is a knock off recipe, the ingredients are nothing like the real Coq au Vin recipe, but it just tastes so dang good! It was a childhood favorite for me. I used to request this dish for my birthday almost every year. The origins of this recipe, you ask? Well, my mom got this recipe from a coworker when she lived and worked in New York. I think that’s all I know. Mom? Can you fill in the gaps?

It really is tasty, despite what the photo looks like. When Jason finds out that I’m getting the chicken ready to marinate overnight, he gets really excited and does a little excited dance. Not only is it tasty, it’s a great way to use up some leftover wine before it turns to vinegar and it’s a great meal to come home to since all you have to do it put it in the oven and make a side. 🙂

Chicken with Wine – ‘Coq au Vin’

1 Cup of Red Wine (you can use white too)
1/4 Cup Soy Sauce
1/4 Cup Olive Oil
2 TBS. Water
1 Clove Garlic, minced
1 TSP Ginger
1 TSP Brown Sugar
4 large Chicken Breasts
1/2 TSP Oregano

Mix all ingredients — pour over chicken. Marinate overnight (or for at least an hour). Bake
375 for 45 minutes. Last 15 minutes uncover. Shred chicken with two forks before serving (this makes for the maximum yummy sauce absorption).

Serve with egg noodles or rice and broccoli.

4 Comments

  1. Posted November 14, 2008 at 11:14 am | Permalink | Reply

    “When Jason finds out that I’m getting the chicken ready to marinate overnight, he gets really excited and does a little excited dance.”

    Thanks for throwing me under the bus my love 😉

    Ok, it’s true, I get pretty excited.

  2. elliek
    Posted November 14, 2008 at 11:17 am | Permalink | Reply

    Well considering my last coq au vin attempt was not so great, I’m a little hesitant here, but since it’s a meal you would request for your birthday dinner, it must be good! I’ll put it on my list!

  3. Posted November 14, 2008 at 11:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    I have been hearing about this for years now, so I’m going to have to try it!

  4. Marie Larkin
    Posted November 14, 2008 at 5:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yes, this was my first job in NYC. My friend Nancy Keeney lived in Manhattan & used to make this for her parties back then.
    To stop it from looking purple, I use white wine.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

