Book Club:: The Time Traveler’s Wife

timetravelerswife_page_1 The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger is probably one of my favorite books. This is the second time I’ve read it (the first was probably 4 years ago) and it was still fantastic. I think I caught some things the second time around that I didn’t catch at first read (I kinda compare reading this story to watching the first Matrix movie – it’s intriguing but you have no idea what’s going on until you’re about halfway in). The writing style is intelligent and draws you effortlessly into the story and cleverly reveals different viewpoints of the same event. I have to say that I’m not much of a ‘love story’ reader as they just seem to be cheesy and not true to life. Now, this was a bit of a ‘sci-fi’ love story, as one of the main characters, Henry, has a genetic defect that makes him spontaneously time travel (or CDP – a Chrono Displaced Person). This creates a web of encounters between Henry (at all ages) and his future wife, Clare, throughout the entire course of her life. When they meet in real time for the first time, it is a humorous encounter as Clare has known Henry since she was six and young Henry has never met Clare (since it is his future self that travels back to spend time with young Clare). The characters develop with the clarity of real people, they are multi-faceted and have realistic problems and reactions to their circumstances. This character development is further reinforced as the story is told by both main characters, Clare and Henry – giving both perspectives of events and how time travel has affected each; Clare, who is always waiting and Henry, who can never be sure of where he will end up, for how long and whether he will be hurt. I love this book and will always heartily reccomend it to anyone looking for an intelligent love story. 10/10

6 Comments

  1. Phil Sharp
    Posted November 15, 2008 at 3:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks for writing such a thorough review. I’ve been looking for different books to read lately because I’ve committed to reading a book a week for a year. This book has just made my list :).

    http://www.fourbooksamonth.wordpress.com

  2. Posted November 15, 2008 at 4:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    favorite book. hands down. (:

  3. Sarah Kay
    Posted November 15, 2008 at 9:46 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love this book so much. It’s the best I’ve read in a long time. 🙂

  4. elliek
    Posted November 16, 2008 at 2:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m still not very far into it but I have really enjoyed it so far! I think it has potential to be one of my favorites.

  5. Posted November 18, 2008 at 6:55 am | Permalink | Reply

    I do absolutely love this book. I fell in love with Clare and Henry from the very first chapter and even after I finished reading the book, I was still wondering what were they doing.. There is no chance for a sequel, which is a shame because I miss Clare and I haven’t met Alba good enough, I simply want more! So I have to read it over and over again – so far I read it 4 times 😛

    The book has been made into a film! Starring Rachel McAdams and Eric Bana, film should be out at the begining of 2009 🙂 Can’t wait.

    I liked your review, especially the “web of meetings” 🙂

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted November 18, 2008 at 9:42 am | Permalink | Reply

    I forgot to mention that it’s going to be a movie! I knew that but I can’t seem to find any information on when it will be released. I hope it’s even just a little bit as good as the book!

One Trackback

  1. By Time Traveler’s Wife - Book review « Blurasis on January 30, 2009 at 10:04 am

    […] Posted in 2008, Posting by Ming Wu on January 23rd, 2008 I finally finished reading The Time Traveler’s Wife It is such a great book to read. For those that aren’t aware. The book […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

