Botticelli’s South Congress

A good friend came in town on Friday night and she requested Italian food. I had heard some good things about the fairly new restaurant Botticelli’s on South Congress and we took this opportunity to try it out. The atmosphere was cozy and quaint – a bit like an Italian trattoria. The dining area was small but comfortable and there was a ‘beer garden’ with live music going on in the back.

We had the original Botticelli’s Bread as our appetizer and I thought it was alright. It was French bread stuffed with prosciutto, copa, mortadella, salame, mozzarella, parmesan, and roasted bell peppers. At $12, I’m not sure it was the best appetizer pick for the price but it satisfied the group I was with. The main courses were exceptional. I took a bite from everyone’s plate and everyone had ordered something quite tasty. Jason had the Tagliatelle with Meatballs in an Arrabiata sauce and it was a nice portion and pretty delicious. I had the Butternut Squash Ravioli with a Brown Butter Sage Sauce and it was amazing. I love butternut squash (I think I’ve mentioned that before) and the ravioli and the sauce accentuated the delicious savory sweetness of the squash. Yum! One of my friends had the same entree as I did and the other had a different meal, which for the sake of me, I can’t remember what it was called. It was essentially a ravioli with a cream sauce, tomatoes and peas and it was delicious. One thing I appreciated about this restaurant is that they observe the seasonal foods – the desserts change nightly and the waitstaff seemed very knowledgeable. Our dessert, which was described as a dense chocolate mousse with a ganache shell was decadent and delicious. The tiramisu. . . I’m just picky about about that dessert and this particular one was not one of my favorites.

Overall, I enjoyed our meal (I enjoyed the company more but the restaurant couldn’t help that) and I would recommend as a great special occasion/date night place!

One Comment

  1. elliek
    Posted November 16, 2008 at 2:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I had a butternut squash ravioli a couple weeks ago and loved it! Yumm!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

