Cauliflower Risotto with Brie and Almonds

Again with the gourmet recipes from this month’s issue! There were obviously a lot of good ones. I made this risotto completely vegetarian by using vegetable stock instead of chicken stock – and it needed more stock than what was called for – I kept adding until I felt the risotto was done which ended up being 1 or 2 cups more than the recipe said. I also sauteed a minced shallot before adding the risotto to the pan because a couple of the reviews said the recipe was a bit bland. I also finished the dish with some grated Parmesan, a but more salt than was called for and a good amount of fresh cracked black pepper. I would say it reminds me of cauliflower gratin, very rich and decadent. Definitely not an every night meal, but satisfying in a ‘stick to your ribs when it’s chilly outside’ sort of way. I have leftovers and I’m looking forward to making some risotto cakes and serving them as an appetizer one night soon!

Recipe for Cauliflower Risotto with Brie and Almonds

One Comment

  1. elliek
    Posted November 19, 2008 at 10:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    I looked at this recipe, but Jeremy recently informed me he is not a big fan of cauliflower (although he ate it last night in our meal…). I’m glad you tried it, it looks cozy.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

