No Knit Scarf

I know, it’s been awhile since I posted about something crafty. . . too many recipes! I promise you, there are a lot of crafts queued up and ready to go, I just have to actually DO them! Most recently, craft-wise, I have made a No Knit Scaft that I saw for the first time in Knit Purl when we were in Portland, Oregon. I’ve tried knitting once, awhile back, and it didn’t go so well. I think my needles were way too small – I think I need big fat needles with big fat yarn so I get the instant gratification that I long for! I had a hard time finding yarn that I thought looked as thick as the picture on the website (or the yarn in that store), but I think I’m happy with the varieties that I got. Remember when I talked about that yarn? Yeah, that’s what they’re for. I have three more scarfs to make and I think they’re going to end up as Christmas gifts. . . I think they’re just about the perfect light weight for a Texas strength winter scarf. 🙂

9 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted November 19, 2008 at 9:02 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love scarves! That turned out really cute!

  2. Kelli
    Posted November 19, 2008 at 10:00 am | Permalink | Reply

    very cute, beth. i’ve been wanting to make a scarf…as i don’t have many. i think this “no-knit” stuff is the ticket..considering i’ve never knitted before.

  3. Posted November 19, 2008 at 11:14 am | Permalink | Reply

    1. How long did this take you?
    2. Where’d you find the yarn?
    3. Approx. what was the cost?
    4. What is a “square knot”?
    5. Did you directly follow the instructions on the page or did you listen to the commenters and make the outsides longer?

    Lol. The whole thing confused me, but I’d really like to make one!

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted November 19, 2008 at 11:48 am | Permalink | Reply

    1. How long did this take you?
    Two 1 hour TV shows (so around 2 hours)

    2. Where’d you find the yarn?
    http://www.dreamweaveryarns.com/ because I didn’t feel like taking the time to find something in Austin. Bulky weight yarn is A – difficult to find and B – expensive. The yarn I got still isn’t as bulky as what’s on the website’s picture. . . I would use ‘Super Bulky’ instead of just ‘Bulky’ weight if I bought more yarn for this in the future.

    3. Approx. what was the cost?
    $11 for each ball of yarn (4 total) with the intent to make 5 scarfs so about $9 a scarf total.

    4. What is a “square knot”?
    Also called a ‘Reef’ knot, it’s essentially a balanced double knot:
    http://www.animatedknots.com/reef/index.php

    5. Did you directly follow the instructions on the page or did you listen to the commenters and make the outsides longer?
    I cut all of the pieces to 172″(doubling the length that I wanted). The inside pieces still ended up being shorter than the outside but I think that’s because I wasn’t rotating the strands like I could have. I’ll let you know if that changes on the next scarf I make!

  5. cooperella
    Posted November 19, 2008 at 1:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    that’s a super-fun project, Beth! very cute!

  6. jownby
    Posted November 19, 2008 at 1:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Very cute! I’m dying to try this.

  7. kaylebug
    Posted November 19, 2008 at 3:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    yay you finished it!!
    looks great!

  8. Misty
    Posted November 22, 2008 at 1:32 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hey, so this is a random person from Relevant (shinelikestars). I tried this tonight, and it turned out OK! I’m not a crafty person at all, but this was actually pretty fun. I wish I had made my strands of yarn longer, though. My scarf ended up only being about 4′ long!

    I did want to say that I found some great super bulky yarn at Michael’s. It’s Lion Brand Wool-Ease, and it was only about $6.99 per ball. Even if I’d made my scarf a bit longer, I think I’d have had plenty for one per ball, with some left over.

  9. Elizabeth
    Posted November 22, 2008 at 10:51 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks Misty! Glad you tried the project and it turned out well – you’re probably craftier than you thought. 🙂

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

