Mac and Two Cheeses with Caramelized Shallots

This was much easier than other mac and cheese recipes that I’ve tried, it had fewer ingredients, and it came together very quickly. I loved the creaminess of the goat cheese and the delicious sweetened onion-y/garlicky bite that the caramelized shallots gave. There was serious depth of flavor for so few ingredients. I didn’t use half and half because I didn’t have any (because I forgot to buy some) and 2% milk worked just fine! I also really liked the method of tossing the flour (the cheesy thickening agent) in with the shredded cheddar cheese before adding it to the hot milk. I’d never done a cheese sauce that way before (typically I make a roux with butter and flour and then add the milk, once that’s thickened, then I add the cheese . . .) and it worked awesome! I also subbed whole grain macaroni elbows to try and give this some sort of nutritional value – I couldn’t tell a difference from the non whole grain. This is definitely way better than any boxed mac and cheese you can buy and it’s worth the little bit of extra time! You should totally try it out. I mean, who doesn’t love mac and cheese?!

Recipe for Mac and Two Cheeses with Caramelized Shallots

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

