Reversible Purse

I made this little purse for a friend of mine, whose birthday is today. (Happy Birthday Kristin! This bag is for you!) For this cute little bag, I used Martha Stewart’s free Reversible Purse Pattern. I love that the bag is reversible – if I make another, I may embroider something on the solid fabric before I sew it all together so it’s not quite so plain when reversed to the solid side. Oh and I love the little birdie fabric! It is a little reminiscent of fall in the colors (and I guess it still feels like fall here in central Texas), but I still just love it! Overall, this was pretty simple to sew – it only used 1/2 of a half yard (although you need the width of a half yard cut – just think of it as making two purses with one 1/2 yard) and it is big enough to use for a night out on the town although probably not for an everyday bag! I actually have a purse in this same style, in leather, that I got as a souvenir for my time in Italy! Kristin, I hope you like your little bag – hopefully I will see you soon so I can give it to you!

9 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted December 2, 2008 at 1:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This is so cute! I’m adding it to my list! Oh, and I love the fabric!

  2. Posted December 2, 2008 at 1:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I printed out this pattern yesterday! It looks great!

  3. Jenn
    Posted December 2, 2008 at 2:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi there,

    I can’t even remember how I found your blog – but what a cute bag. I’ve added you to my list. Very cute fabric…who is it by? Thanks also for hte free McCalls pattern…of course after I decided on my freebie one, found out it’s only for US addresses. As I’m in Canada – another one I miss out on. Oh well.

    jenn

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted December 2, 2008 at 2:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Jenn! I’m glad you enjoy the blog! The fabric is Joel Dewberry Aviary Sparrow. I’m sorry to hear that the McCall’s pattern was only for the US. . . that’s a big bummer, especially when you had already decided on the pattern!

  5. Posted December 2, 2008 at 2:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Man….this is super cute. What a cool pattern. You never cease to amaze me.

  6. nickiberthiaume
    Posted December 2, 2008 at 3:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    oh wow, I love this! I think I’ve found what I’m gifting my cousins for Christmas 🙂

  7. jownby
    Posted December 2, 2008 at 3:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I REALLY like this fabric.

  8. Posted December 3, 2008 at 11:43 am | Permalink | Reply

    wow. that’s so cool.

  9. Posted December 10, 2008 at 12:56 am | Permalink | Reply

    Ive made one of those before, but I didnt get my pattern from Martha. Im pretty sure I bought it at Walmart. Ill have to drag out the bag and take pics. lol.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

