Leftover Baked Potato Soup

It’s a little daunting to try and figure out how to follow that last post. So I’m just not going to think about it and jump right back into the regularly scheduled programing. 🙂

So ever since I saw Alton Brown’s method for baking potatoes, my baked potatoes taste more like what you would get at a steakhouse – where the skin is seasoned and delicious, and the inside is the perfect potato texture without a hint of gumminess. This week, I really wasn’t feeling like eating much of anything unless it was carby or starchy. . . enter potato. We had baked potatoes one night and I baked a few extra for soup the next night.

I made a lot of changes to the recipe based on user reviews: subbed yellow onions for leeks (much cheaper); cut the chicken stock from 6 cups to 4 cups; used sharp cheddar instead of parmesan; I used apple cider vinegar instead of sherry vinegar, because that’s what I had on hand; tossed in about 1/2 cup of heavy whipping cream because I wanted to use it up; I didn’t use a ricer on the potatoes, just chopped them and used my immersion blender to puree a bit to the consistency I wanted . . . and I think that’s about it! So, really, I didn’t follow the recipe much at all – just took the spirit of it and modified it to my own tastes and I think I did a pretty good job! I really enjoyed the way the soup turned out and surprisingly, ‘he who doesn’t like soup’ (Jason) devoured it, proclaiming it delicious! He even ate leftovers without complaining (as long as there is bacon in the meal, I find there is little complaining)!

Recipe for Leftover Baked Potato Soup

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

