A Crafty Day Off – Part 2

I’m afraid this post may not be as exciting as the last one. At least, I’m not as excited about it as my last one. Sadly, my second day of crafting was not quite as productive as I would have hoped. Mainly because of the failed attempt at another pattern I created on my own. Anyone want to offer me reassurance on this one? I’m pretty sure I should never try to make it in a bright print again. It looks a bit like a pillow you would find on grandma’s couch:

I will try again though, I like the concept and I think it would be cute in a solid color. It was also my first time to make something with ruffles, which was surprisingly easier than I thought it was going to be.

I did finish up some earrings that are really simple gifts but I like them anyways. 🙂

And lastly, I am working on getting together some more generic gifts that I can make in mass quantity. Typically these are cookies, but I’ve decided I don’t think I want to make mass quantities of cookies this year. . . so I thought this could be fun and maybe easier!

I’m reusing mason jars from pasta sauce to fill with the dry ingredients for Chocolate White Chocolate Chip Cookies, Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies, and Brownies. . . I’ll attach a tag with what remaining wet ingredients need to be added (like, oil, butter or eggs) and how to cook. I think that’s a fun idea! I know I’d like something like that if I was the recipient.

8 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted December 11, 2008 at 3:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think maybe the print was too big on that purse…I really liked the fabric when I saw on Monday. Your ruffles turned out great. It looks like the pattern has a lot of potential!

    Your cookie jars are a great idea dn they looks so cool!

  2. RB
    Posted December 11, 2008 at 4:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I would agree with Ellie. Your design is really cute! I think perhaps that pattern would look good in a soft, grey, woolish kind of fabric? Maybe a solid-colored fabric will hold the design of your purse a little better. Keep trying, you’ll get it!!

  3. Posted December 11, 2008 at 4:32 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I agree about the print…but I also think this might look cute with the ruffle just on the flap. I am not one for ruffles though so…take that with a grain of salt. 🙂

  4. Posted December 11, 2008 at 6:42 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love your jar gifts, and I would be thrilled to receive one as a gift! Glad I stumbled onto your blog:)

  5. Posted December 12, 2008 at 11:57 am | Permalink | Reply

    I actually liked Day Two just as much as day One, but I’m a homemade gift junkie. 🙂

    Could you explain the earrings a little bit? I’m pretty inept when it comes to jewelry (both wearing and making)?

    Also, is that the first mason jar have peppermints on the top? Mind sharing the recipe? 🙂

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted December 12, 2008 at 12:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Well thanks Sheri!

    The earrings are pretty simple – I found those silver discs at a local beading store and added ear wires. Pretty dumbly easy but way cheaper than buying earrings (probably about $8 a pair total, and I see earrings like those at Banana Republic for $40 a pair). For the yellow earrings, I used jump rings to connect them together and then added the ear wires. Simple gifts. 🙂

    And sadly, those aren’t peppermints, they’re colored white chocolate chips! Those are the chocolate white chocolate chip cookies. I have no idea if they’re any good, but I loved the idea so much that I abandoned my fears that they would be awful and just put the jars together!

  7. Posted December 13, 2008 at 4:16 pm | Permalink | Reply

    oh i think that little purse it adorable, i love the ruffles. i have no idea how to make ruffles! but i agree with the comment above that it might look even extra darling with just the ruffles on the flap 🙂 so cute!

  8. Kristin Kailing
    Posted December 22, 2008 at 10:40 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love the purse. The pattern looks pretty modern to me. I could totally sport that! 🙂

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

