Dad’s New Robe (and Christmas Stuff)

So one of my final Christmas gifts that I completed was this robe for my Dad. I used the free McCall’s Pattern M4244 that I got awhile back and some Texas A&M style fleece for the fabric. Now, the robe patterns doesn’t list fleece as one of the options for fabric so there were certain modifications I had to make. For one, you can’t iron fleece, it melts. I ended up pinning and basting when the pattern called for me to iron a sem or iron something flat. It worked out pretty well. I was very happy with how it turned out – I thought it was a masculine robe and it went very smoothly for my first time working with a standard pattern (not a Sew Everything Workshop or Amy Butler pattern). As you can see, he was pretty stoked about the robe:

And here’s my mom and my dad modeling their homemade gifts (remember the apron and the oven mitt posts from way back when?):

And Malachi even got in on the Christmas action – he got a kitty pirate ship:

‘Aaaargh’, he says:

There are a bunch more photos of our Christmas fun on Flickr. 🙂 Hope everyone had an enjoyable Christmas as well!

5 Comments

  1. Posted December 29, 2008 at 12:45 pm | Permalink | Reply

    The bathrobe looks great! How fun that Malachi got a gift! Our parents always give gifts to our dog too! I guess that’s their way of coping pre-grandchildren!

  2. Posted December 29, 2008 at 1:15 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love the robe!

  3. Posted December 29, 2008 at 10:17 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That picture of your dad makes me happy. He’s so happy! And I’m digging the kitty pirate ship. If my two cats wouldn’t end up just peeing the whole thing, I’d be trying to figure out where you got it.

  4. Posted December 31, 2008 at 12:24 am | Permalink | Reply

    Looks like everything turned out and was a hit! great job!

  5. cooperella
    Posted January 15, 2009 at 6:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m beginning to play “catch up” on my blog reading… let the commenting begin! 🙂

    I just had to say that I ADORE your dad’s expression in that first photo. that is just too precious! must have made you feel so good to see him so happy to get it!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

