Save Handmade Toys

baby-elephantI know a lot of you read the Sew Mama Sew blog but I thought I’d reiterate an article that they had on there recently and plead for you to take action with me. This is the third blog that I follow to bring this issue to my attention. The first was on Earth First and the second was Wallet Pop. Essentially it boils down to this: CPSIA will not allow handmade toys to be sold in the United States unless they can meet strict, expensive regulation that are more suited for large toy corporations to follow. This will put a lot of people out of business unless the law is changed to exclude handmade toys (I don’t even want to imagine the hit that the crafting etsy community will take – handmade dolls, softies and wooden cars and blocks . . .  all gone). The Handmade Toy Alliance has a lot more information on their website. As a soon to be mom, I am hoping to stay far away from plastic toys that are made in China. . . Going with the ‘less is more’ approach, I think it is more valuable for a child to have fewer high quality toys (made of wood or fabric) than more cheaply made plastic toys.

Here’s how you can help: write to your United States congressman or congresswoman and your senator to request changes to the CPSIA that would protect handmade toys. You can use this sample letter, provided by the Handmade Toy Alliance. We’ve got to protect the local artisans who make a living off providing our kids with safe, natural alternatives to the plastic toys made in China.

7 Comments

  1. jesse
    Posted December 30, 2008 at 11:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    awesome beth – is there a link for those wooden puzzle elephants?

  2. Elizabeth
    Posted December 30, 2008 at 11:25 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yeah, you can click here to get to their website, but of course, they are in the UK! They have some really great wooden toys on their site – I need to learn how to woodwork!

  3. Posted December 30, 2008 at 12:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love those wooden puzzle elephants, too… thanks for alerting us! I agree with you that less is more (especially in our current rental situation). Wow… it’s hard to get the families to understand that, though.

  4. nickiberthiaume
    Posted December 30, 2008 at 3:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Interestingly enough, I read this today:

    http://tryingtobegreener.wordpress.com/2008/12/29/update-to-homemade-toy-sales-being-banned-in-the-us-and-canada/

  5. Elizabeth
    Posted December 30, 2008 at 3:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow, that would be great if they exempted those items!

  6. Posted January 1, 2009 at 6:47 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Thank you for posting this!!! I am glad that there are other people who are supporting changing this so us crafters can keep going! I love your blog and I can’t even remember how I came across it… we lived in Austin for 6 years until 2006 and then moved home when we had our 1st child. I am a stay at home mom who makes baby supplies for online and for stores in Omaha, Ne and hoping Austin soon. For homemad toys you should check out etsy, everything on there is made my “crafters” like me, there are some awesome wood toys on there… for now anyways. http://www.emmagirldesigns.etsy.com is mine or you can just go to http://www.etsy.com. Looking forward to your future blogs… Kathy

  7. Posted January 12, 2009 at 8:43 am | Permalink | Reply

    wrote all three

One Trackback

  1. […] Posted by Elizabeth under Crafts | Tags: Crafts, save handmade, toys |   So it seems that the outcry has yielded some results. There have been some changes to the law (read about them here) and resale […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

