New England Clam and Corn Chowder with Herbs

I really like the special quick and easy recipes special that Bon Appetit ran in their January issue. They focused on created an easy, quick menu for a whole week, for a family of 4, for $100 – I think they even came in under budget. They also threw in a dessert for all week! The recipes all sounds delicious and I really enjoyed seeing the price tags on each one. It gave me a better idea of how much cheaper it is to cook at home, especially when you’re using recipes like these. Thank you Bon Appetit for helping me to bring our grocery trip costs down.

This is the first recipe that I tried from this quick and easy (and cheap!) series and I know I’m going to try several more. We really enjoyed this chowder (although it doesn’t beat the clam chowder we had at Canon Beach). I used to eat whole cans of Campbell’s New England Clam Chowder as a meal when I was growing up I liked it so much. This definitely beats what comes out of the can. It’s so thick and hearty (although it has no cream! yay for healthy!), with the bright pops of flavor from the corn and freshness from the veggies and parsley. I bet you could sub a lower fat milk instead of whole milk if you REALLY wanted to but I think a chowder typically has cream in it, so the whole milk should stay to add the richness that you normally expect of a chowder. I used center cut bacon too, since it’s vaguely healthier than normal bacon (bacon, healthy? nah).

Recipe for New England Clam and Corn Chowder with Herbs

New England Clam Chowder

2 Comments

  1. AJ
    Posted December 31, 2008 at 12:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I was so excited about that section! I haven’t had time to try any of the recipes yet, but I will eventually 🙂

  2. Posted December 31, 2008 at 2:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yumm! I love clam chowder too! (and Cannon Beach 🙂 I was just reading these recipes last night! I made the Chicken with cadamom-yogurt and red bell pepper curry from this issue last night – I’ll post about it later this week!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

