Gianduia Pies

These really don’t look like much, I know. Elizabeth alerted me to this Gianduia Pie recipe in her post about Thanksgiving recipes and I was instantly sold. Now, you have to know a little history here. When I was in Turin for 2 weeks I found an abundance of gianduia gelato and Gianduiotti chocolates wrapped in their pretty little gold wrappers that I was quite enamored with. So now when I see anything Gianduia, I kinda freak out. Well, I don’t ‘kinda’ freak out, I do freak out. So I made this pie the day I saw her posting which happened to be December 30th – appropriately in time to take for a fun little New Years shin dig. 🙂 I decided not to make the pie full size and make mini pies, partly due to the fact that I had received mini cheesecake pans for Christmas that I wanted to try out and partly so they would be easier to serve and eat.

I didn’t add crushed hazelnuts to the filling because I imagined it being silky smooth like mousse and I didn’t want anything that could be grainy in there. And note to self if I make this again: whip nutella with a tablespoon or so of unwhipped cream to lighten it up before folding with the whipped cream – I wasn’t super pleased with the consistency of the final product – I think it could be better. But the taste – yum, exactly what I dreamed. 🙂 (PS,  you can often find the Nabisco Famous Chocolate Wafers next to the ice cream section with the fudge and strawberry toppings.)

Recipe for Gianduia Pie (Nutella Pie)

4 Comments

  1. Posted January 5, 2009 at 1:50 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love all things ‘mini’ — these look great!

  2. Posted January 5, 2009 at 1:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow, these are cute. Glad you liked how they turned out.

  3. elliek
    Posted January 5, 2009 at 6:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    These were so delicious!

  4. Sarah Kay
    Posted January 5, 2009 at 6:49 pm | Permalink | Reply

    These look great, I am going to try this recipe!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

