Fish Cakes with Coleslaw and Horseradish-Dill Sauce

I love crab cakes a lot so when I saw that Bon Appetit had a cheap, knock off, crab cake wanna be recipe in their cheap and easy feature I knew I had to make it. I really thought that that fish cakes and sauce were delicious and came together very quickly – I was pleased with the consistency and easy of preparation. I did not like the coleslaw but I don’t like coleslaw in general. I just couldn’t figure out what you’re supposed to serve these with. Rice? Veggies? These definitely did not serve 4 likes the recipe says it does – Jason and I ate all 4 fish cakes (although we did get pretty full towards the last  couple of bites).  I think if I make these again I will make smaller cakes (which may help the recipe serve 3 people and not 2) and serve with some veggies.

All that to say that these are very good. You should try them!

Recipe for Fish Cakes with Coleslaw and Horseradish-Dill Sauce

P.S. This is my 300th post!

8 Comments

  1. Posted January 7, 2009 at 10:32 am | Permalink | Reply

    I don’t like coleslaw either!

  2. Posted January 7, 2009 at 11:54 am | Permalink | Reply

    I saw this recipe & thought about trying it. I think I will now. We aren’t coleslaw people either. Maybe you could steam some sugar snap peas with them? Or maybe baked sweet potato fries?

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted January 7, 2009 at 11:58 am | Permalink | Reply

    Mmm I love baked sweet potato fries! It seems like a little sugar snap pea salad could be really nice. . .

  4. Posted January 8, 2009 at 7:21 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve never made fish cakes, so forgive this possibly silly question… can you use another type of fish than mahi mahi? I think E would like these, but she’s a little sensitive on the type of fish…

  5. Elizabeth
    Posted January 8, 2009 at 9:42 am | Permalink | Reply

    You can certainly make these with another fish – I’ve made tuna cakes before and I’ve eaten them made with salmon. I would imagine any fairly firm white fish would work! These are a great alternative to the processed fish sticks that kiddos love so much – you could even shape them into bite size cakes or the traditional fish stick shape if you wanted to!

  6. Posted January 10, 2009 at 7:18 am | Permalink | Reply

    I tried them, and Eden was so/so about it. She’s never had fish sticks of any sort, so it was an experiment anyway. She ate a few bites, and was done. Of course, this has been her pattern lately, so maybe she loved it. Good news: Lance really liked them. 🙂

  7. Elizabeth
    Posted January 10, 2009 at 12:46 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Sheri, I’m glad you tried them! Which fish did you end up using?

  8. Posted January 10, 2009 at 4:19 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Tuna. 🙂 I didn’t want to waste salmon on something Eden wouldn’t be 100% on. 🙂

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

