Lisa Hannigan: Sea Sew

sea-sew Anyone who knows me well knows that I really like Damien Rice. I’ve also always had a love for his back up singer, Lisa Hannigan. Her voice is so unique and the two of them together, although so unique individually are just magical together. I was a little sad to hear that the two of them would no longer be performing together, but at the same time I was excited to hear what Lisa Hannigan would create on her own. Well, I finally got around to buying the album (with a gift card from Christmas, yay) and I have really been enjoying this CD – it’s definitely more upbeat and folky than Damien Rice’s brand of music but her unique quality carried through on all of the songs. There are a few songs that are a bit more ‘drivey’, like Sea Song and Keep it All (one of my favorites), but the majority are fairly light and easy to listen to. I especially love listening for words she says just a little bit different than we’re used to since she’s Irish. 🙂

4 Comments

  1. Kristin Kailing
    Posted January 7, 2009 at 9:45 am | Permalink | Reply

    cool, i’ll give her a listen

  2. Posted January 7, 2009 at 10:53 am | Permalink | Reply

    Me too! I like her on the Rice albums….

  3. jesse
    Posted January 8, 2009 at 12:36 am | Permalink | Reply

    i like ocean & a rock

  4. samdurrant
    Posted March 4, 2009 at 7:29 am | Permalink | Reply

    She is awesome…

One Trackback

  1. […] 2009 March 20 tags: Lisa Hannigan, music, Sea Sew by Elizabeth So, I did a review of Lisa Hannigan’s debut solo CD Sea Sew awhile back, and then I found out she was going to […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

