One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest

n691So following with my idea of reading classic books that I hadn’t read in school, I picked up One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest by Ken Kesey. I didn’t know what the storyline was when I picked up the book. Turn’s out that the ‘Cuckoo’s Nest’ was an asylum. I know, how un-PC, right? It also turns out that there was a movie of this book made with Jack Nicholson in 1975 and I may have to go rent it now. Well, the story is told by a schizophrenic American Indian about a new patient to the hospital, McMurphy (who has pleaded insanity to be removed from a prison where he has to work) and his conflict with the head Nurse Ratched. McMurphy is determined to free these men he begins to befriend from her ‘institutionalized submission’ and the book follows his crazy attempts, their encounters and other shaninigans in the hospital. I really thought this book was interesting, innovative, although, at times hard to follow. I found myself rereading certain sections to figure out what had happened because things seemed to unfold rather quickly. The ending caught me completely off guard (which I won’t reveal here) but I felt it was fitting. This is definitely worth a read and understandable why it is in ‘classic’ status. 8.5/10

One Comment

  1. elliek
    Posted January 11, 2009 at 10:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Interesting. I didn’t read this one in high school either…

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

