Beef and Bacon Meatloaf

Ah meatloaf. The classic meat and potatoes dish. I have made so many variations on this dish, I’ve lost count of them all. I decided to try this on out since it was on the cheap and easy section of Bon Appetit’s January issue. And really, anything with bacon in it sells me pretty quickly. This came together nicely although it did take an hour to cook, so some of the ‘quick’ status kinda wore off on me. It was very tasty – nice and smoky from the bacon. I think this would be good with a leaner white meat, maybe a mixture of ground chicken and turkey. . . the bacon seems to supplement the flavor and fat content of the meat. It made a good amount of food, enough for two dinners for the two of us and lunch the next day. I’ve always liked the idea of cooking mini meatloafs in muffin tins for portion control and quickness of cooking, so that might be something good to apply to this recipe.

Recipe for Beef and Bacon Meatloaf


(I think there needed to be something green on this plate but. . . there wasn’t. . . oh well.)

One Comment

  1. elliek
    Posted January 11, 2009 at 10:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Looks good!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

