Book Club:: Chick Flick Road Kill

chick_thumb1Chick Flick Road Kill: A Behind the Scense Odyssey into Movie-Made America by Alicia Rebensdorf is less about the movies and more about the road trip. In this non-fiction book, Alicia travels across the country to visit the locations of various movies and TV shows and documents her encounters with the local people and cities. I was initially a little worried when I picked up this book and looked at the movies and shows she was pursuing; I had only seen three of the fourteen. Turns out it didn’t really matter as she spent little time dwelling on the movies themselves and more on the feelings that were evoked by her visiting the locations. I was a little shocked at how she behaved in a couple of situations involving men she had known for very little time, but that’s just me being naive, I’m sure. The highlight of the read for me was her chapter on the Truman Show, as it was filmed in Seaside, Florida, the first New Urbanist town in America. I’ve wanted to visit this city, not because of the Truman Show, but because of the wisdom in the way that city was developed and the movement it started within Landscape Architecture and City Planning.

I was a little dismayed at her unwillingness to venture into the state of Texas and how quickly she wrote off the entire state. I understand what the state of Texas stands for (excess, indulgence, cows, BBQ, Bush, bigger is better, hicks, hunting, Dallas [the TV show], and big hair) and completely understand not being enthralled with the state, but I believe there are parts of it that are truly worth visiting.

But enough of that, it was an interesting read and if you’re interested in reading about somebody else’s road trip across the country, it could be a good read for you too. 6.5/10

3 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted January 12, 2009 at 6:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    you were kinder to this book than I think I will be…I’m just not a big fan so far and I’m about half way through it…

  2. Posted January 13, 2009 at 9:52 am | Permalink | Reply

    I hate that so many people stereotype Texas. But just remember… either those people have never been, they’ve known a real a-hole that claimed to be from Texas, or they just had a bad experience. But I will say that Texas DOES have the best BBQ in the world! Sorry to all of you Tennessee fans!

  3. Posted January 14, 2009 at 10:12 am | Permalink | Reply

    I haven’t even started it yet so you and Ellie’s comments are boding well for me…bummer.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

