Pork Parmesan and Ricotta Gnocchi

{And now we resume regularly scheduled programming.}

The pork parmesan is something that I took from what my mom used to make and I changed it just a bit! Jason has always like this recipe and I’ve made it pretty continuously for the past couple of years. I would imagine it would work well with chicken too. Typically I make it with mashed potatoes and broccoli but I think the gnocchi fits a little bit better. I’m going to try my best to type out what I typically do to prepare this, but I’m doing it from memory so feel free to tweak it to make it work better for you.

Pork Parmesan
adapted from my mom’s recipe

4-6 boneless pork chops (or pork cutlets) pounded out to about 1/2″
1 1/2 cups breadcrumbs (I make my own from heels of bread and partially stale loaves and then freeze them)
1/2 tsp dried parsley, oregano, and basil (skip this if you’re using seasoned bread crumbs)
4 tbsp parmesan, divided
big pinch of salt and pepper
one egg, whisked
sliced or shredded mozzarella or provolone
jar of spaghetti sauce

Preheat over to 375. Spray one cookie sheet with non stick spray.

Mix breadcrumbs, dried herbs, 3 tbsp parmesan, salt and pepper and place in a flat dish. Add 1 tbsp parmesan to the whisked egg. Dip each piece of pork in the egg and then dredge in breadcrumb mixture and then place coated pieces of pork on the cookie sheet.

Cook for around 8-10 minutes until just starting to brown. Spoon pasta sauce on each piece and top with cheese. Return to oven until cheese is melted and bubbly and the edges of the pork are golden brown.

__

The recipe for Ricotta Gnocchi produces a much lighter tasting gnocchi than the traditional potato gnocchi. It’s also a lot less preparation. I made one full recipe and froze the whole batch, that way I could only boil what I needed and the gnocchi was perfect straight from the freezer into boiling water (tip: freeze it on a cookie sheet before putting it in a freezer bag so you don’t have one giant clump of gnocchi). It definitely beats any packaged gnocchi out there and it really doesn’t take a whole lot of work!

Recipe for Ricotta Gnocchi

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

