Sugar Puffs (Chouquettes)

These are essentially cream puffs without the cream. They are apparently a traditional French after school snack and the list of ingredients was so short that I decided to try them out to bring to a meeting on Sunday night (and I’ve always wanted to try my hand at cream puffs). I tried making them with chocolate chips, but the chocolate burned. . . it may be that I need to use a high quality chocolate (Hershey’s is not normally my top choice!). I used turbinado sugar in place of the pearl sugar since I didn’t have time to run to Ikea (although next time I’m there, I would like to pick up some pearl sugar). These puffed perfectly and were completely hollow in the inside, just as they should be! I was so proud of myself! I would love to make these again and fill them with some sweetened vanilla cream (oo or grand marnier cream), or fill them with espresso ice cream and top with some hot fudge. Yum!

Recipe for Sugar Puffs (Chouquettes)


(I love this picture – it’s so fancy looking! Go Jason! I see how these could fill French bakery windows. . .)

4 Comments

  1. kaylebug
    Posted January 21, 2009 at 12:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Those look delicious!!
    I will have to give them a try!

  2. Posted January 21, 2009 at 6:56 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I saw this recipe the other day and put it in my recipe folder! I grew up making cream puffs but I think these would be fun too!

  3. limeandlemon
    Posted January 22, 2009 at 11:28 am | Permalink | Reply

    Looks really Delicious .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com/

  4. Posted January 23, 2009 at 12:49 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love it when it comes out and looks just like the magazine. I’ve never made any kind of bread or pastry so I’m trying to work up the courage to try.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

