High Chair, Hair Dryers and Cows

high-chairI may be kinda ridiculous, but I’m really excited that we inherited this high chair. Not only is it awesome because it’s getting reused, it’s awesome because it takes up so little space and it completely easy to transport. . . I’m really more excited about this than I should be. I used it when I took care of my friend’s child (the friend that gave it to us) and I was so stinking impressed with it that I think I raved about it for a couple weeks. There are just somethings that I get a little too excited about, like pretty bundt pans (thanks mom for getting me a pretty bundt pan for Christmas, I need to make a cake soon!) and this highchair happens to be one of them. 🙂

So yesterday morning, my hair dryer blew up in my hand while I was drying my hair. Sparks, loud pop, more sparks, scream, loud pop. Toss the hair dryer into the sink and back away.  Thankfully my hair was still wet otherwise I think I might be sporting a new hairstyle (mainly, burnt). Now typically, I would race out and buy a new hair dryer because how else are you supposed to get ready for work! Well, I’m going to try life without a hair dryer for a little while. I know that the hair dryer is one of those items that sap quite a bit of extra electricity and really it might not even be necessary. Jason’s completely on board with this idea, because when I don’t blow dry my hair, it gets a little wavy, which he likes. So this next week should be an interesting week. People got along for a long time without hair dryers, I’m pretty sure I can too. I think. I know this wouldn’t work in some areas of the country in the middle of winter, but it’s going to be 85 today. Right. Crazy Texas weather.

And then, since we’re going with three completely unrelated topics, I was going to see if any of you Austinites would be interested in going in on a cow with me. That’s right. A cow. Alexander Farms is about to offer up some premium beef in half cow and quarter cow increments. Their beef is grass feed, free range, no hormones or antibiotics and completely local. It comes down to around $4 a pound for all cuts of meat (various steaks, ground beef, stew meat, roasts, etc). I would like to get either 4 people (for a quarter cow) or 8 people (for a half cow, it’s a bit cheaper this way) in on this deal. The meat wouldn’t be ready for another month but the order has to be put in by next week. The cost would be around $130-150 and the meat would come wrapped in freezer paper. Anyone interested?

12 Comments

  1. Posted January 23, 2009 at 2:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m so jealous. It’s 28 here today.

    And props to you for giving up the hair dryer! (And glad you are okay!!) Wow, I don’t know how/if I could do that!

  2. Kelli
    Posted January 23, 2009 at 2:12 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’d be interested 🙂

  3. Posted January 23, 2009 at 2:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    It’s the funniest thing you are posting about the high chair. A friend of mine just used this when we out to lunch today, and I was SOLD.

    The high chair is really as cool as people say they are. Now I want one. 🙂

  4. Posted January 23, 2009 at 3:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Pity I can’t have the beef shipped to Denver… though I suppose that kinda defeats the “lack of carbon footprint” concept.

  5. Posted January 23, 2009 at 3:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    that is so funny because I was going to ask YOU about going in with ME on a cow!! LOL

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted January 23, 2009 at 3:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Sheri – That’s way too funny that you saw that high chair today! Crazy world.

    Lexie – When you move away from Texas, you loose the beef, what can I say. 🙂

    Amanda – So I guess that means yes? You’re interested?

  7. Posted January 23, 2009 at 3:35 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Well, I already talked to you via email, but just so it doesn’t look like I am ignoring you on your blog…Yes. 🙂

  8. elliek
    Posted January 23, 2009 at 4:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    We totally had a high chair like that when we were little! I remember we always had to leave a spot open at the table to hook it on!

    Good luck with the no blow dryer…I would totally do that except that my bangs would be out of control!

    Cow…Jeremy’s parent’s did that last year. I’ll talk to Jeremy to see if he’s interested, but I’m just not sure we have enough room in our freezer to make that happen.

  9. nickiberthiaume
    Posted January 24, 2009 at 2:27 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I am constantly inspired by you. I’m really impressed with the blow drier thing. I’ve got to start packing up my “junk” and get basically moved out in the next month because I’m leaving. It will be interesting to see what I consider necessities both for packing, and for keeping for storage!

    I really enjoy the positive attitude you have when giving things up. I hope I can follow your lead!

  10. Posted January 26, 2009 at 11:11 am | Permalink | Reply

    any big updates?!??!

  11. MichelleD
    Posted January 26, 2009 at 12:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    if I lived in Austin I would go in on the cow with you! I’m trying to find someone around here to share one with:)

  12. cooperella
    Posted January 26, 2009 at 1:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    just saw the blog post, but I think I already told you – count me in for some cow! and let me know if you’re having any trouble coming up with enough interested persons… I’ll talk to Tyler to see if he’d be into it too.

3 Trackbacks

  1. […] case you have been anxiously waiting, month 5 is already here (yeah, that’s the hair w/o the blow dryer, I kinda like […]

  2. […] (pasture, sunlight, mooing). After contacting Kim Alexander and discussing the specifics of cost, I knew this was something I wanted to do. It supported what I believe is the way we should be eating beef (especially after reading In […]

  3. […] caved and bought a hairdryer. When we were in Dallas for my baby shower, I used a hair dryer and realized how much I missed it. […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

