Cauliflower Soup

OK, this post has been sitting here for awhile. It’s time to get this baby on the intraweb! I made this recipe a couple weekends ago for some friends with some local yellow cauliflower that I picked up at the farmers market. Yeah. You read that correctly. It was yellow. Apparently cauliflower comes in various shades, not just white, and the nutrients vary based on the color. Next, I want to make the purple cauliflower into soup. 🙂

cauliflower

I did deviate from the recipe a little bit, but the recipe is so simple that it almost screams for additions! I added about 1/2 cup of sour cream and 2 tbsps of butter. Jason, who doesn’t normally like soup, actually really enjoyed this one, so I take that as a good sign! I’m starting to find that if I add sour cream to anything, he ends up liking it (like the perfect mashed potatoes, no butter, no milk, just sour cream and salt and pepper. . . ).

I really had fun making the lacy parmesan crisp, it adds a nice crunch and sharp salty taste to the soup. I definitely recommend using a silpat to make this task possible, and someday, I will make the lacy little parmesan cups that I saw in a magazine somewhere  that employs a similar procedure (you just melt the cheese on the silpat and carefully transfer the crisp into a muffin tin so that once it hardens, it forms a cup that will hold salad or an appetizer).

Recipe for Cauliflower Soup

3 Comments

  1. jownby
    Posted January 25, 2009 at 9:49 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Shocked. Never knew cauliflower came in different colors.

  2. cooperella
    Posted January 26, 2009 at 1:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I will attest to the yumminess of this soup. Delish!

  3. Posted March 8, 2009 at 11:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    that soup looks fantastic!! and i have to tell you, beth, i know that you know that i pretty much admire everything about you and stalk your blog, i just think you are amazing. some things you do like sew, cook, bake, crochet, book club, etc, i do on a smaller basis and want to be like you!! you are so talented and creative and i just love to look at your blog and get ideas. you guys are going to be such amazing parents. tell jason thanks for talking to me the other day, i always enjoy you guys so much. cant wait to see pics of jude!! you look gorgeous by the way!!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

