5 Months and more

Just in case you have been anxiously waiting, month 5 is already here (yeah, that’s the hair w/o the blow dryer, I kinda like it!):

It’s really crazy to me how quickly all of this is going. I’m so excited now because I get to start on the baby quilt and various other baby items since we know it’s a boy! Hopefully I have enough time to get everything done. . . It’s full steam ahead from here on out. I’m thinking I got a good start on some fabric for the quilt because some of my sewing friends and I hit up a craiglist posting for a lady that was liquidating her fabric supply. She was selling some amazing fabrics for $6 a yard. Well, what she didn’t mention was that she had a closet full of ‘scraps’ that she let us stuff into paper bags for $15 a bag. Talk about a score:

I may be going back for another bag of fabric! I think my favorite may have been the sock monkey fabric (upper left). Who knew such a thing existed! And now it’s out of print! Sunday I finished up a pouch sling for a good friend of mine from college – she’s having a little boy too and is due in March. I love the combo of zebra and solid green:

I’m making her husband a sling as well out of camo fabric (he was a ranger in the Army) but I’m waiting on his measurements because he’s a big guy and I make to make sure the ‘extra large’ is indeed large enough for his broad shoulders! And my final sewing project for Sunday evening was patching some jeans for Jason:

Somehow he manages to tear the knees out of his jeans much quicker than it seems like he should be able to! I used this tutorial and I think it turned out pretty well. We’ll see how they hold up. I’m pretty sure I’m going to be doing this on several other pairs of his jeans here shortly!

6 Comments

  1. Posted January 26, 2009 at 2:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Aww…there’s a little BABY in there! I knew it would be a boy. 🙂

  2. Posted January 26, 2009 at 4:01 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You look great! And of course, I think the fabric is awesome! What a steal!

  3. Posted January 26, 2009 at 4:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Wow… you really scored with that fabric!

    I like the wave in your hair. I never use a blow dryer… mostly b/c I’m too lazy to spend the extra effort (and maybe my hair shows for it!).

    Can’t wait to see your baby projects!

  4. Posted January 27, 2009 at 2:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You look great for 5 months!

    What fun! – a boy! How exciting – enjoy the months leading up.

    Can I ask which sling pattern you used? I am still trying to make one and gave up for a bit after my last attempt.

  5. Elizabeth
    Posted January 27, 2009 at 2:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Jenn, I used the pattern I found here: http://www.mammasmilk.com/ebooks/

    I know I bought it and you can find patterns for free everywhere, but for some reason, I decided I wanted to use this one. It’s very easy, has videos to explain everything and I thought it was worth the $10 since I was new to sling making(I bought the reversible one).

  6. Posted February 7, 2009 at 6:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hello there! I just made it back to reality after the worst months (I hope) of my pregnancy are over. I am also having a boy! I love reading your blog bc you’re awfully crafty and it gives me idears. Hope you are doing very well!

One Trackback

  1. […] In Stitches, Kimono Robe, robe, Sewing |   So this is the first project to be made from the stash of fabric that we picked up last weekend. The fabric is a little cartoon-y, but I thought it was […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

