Snakes and Snails and Puppy Dog Tails!

It’s a boy!

And before everyone starts asking, we do already have a name: Jude Urban Carroll. We’re setting him up to be a rock star, in case you were wondering. 🙂 Jude means ‘praise’ or ‘thanks’ and we think it’s a good mix of pop culture (‘Hey Jude’) and Biblical reference (last book in the New Testament before Revelations) but it’s still pretty unique. We both grew up with some of the most common names of our generation. . . The name ‘Urban’ means ‘from the city’ (duh) and was popular around 1880-1930 and it was the middle name of Dan Kiley, a landscape architect that I admire.

So yeah, more updates later, but I couldn’t wait to share the news!

12 Comments

  1. Posted January 26, 2009 at 12:04 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Aw, he already said hi to you! How cute!!

  2. Posted January 26, 2009 at 12:07 pm | Permalink | Reply

    congrats!

  3. Posted January 26, 2009 at 12:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    CONGRATS! That’s so exciting. I really like the name Jude – and I think it totally fits in your ‘family’. So cute…yaaaaaaaayyyyyyy!

  4. Posted January 26, 2009 at 12:22 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Congrats! Boys are so much fun!

  5. Jess D
    Posted January 26, 2009 at 12:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hip hip, HOORAY!!!

  6. Posted January 26, 2009 at 12:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Congratulations! You know I wanted it to be a girl, but I’m still so excited for you guys! The name already seems to fit perfectly! Somehow…I think you knew it was going to be a boy…Now it’s going to start to seem even more real!

  7. Posted January 26, 2009 at 12:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    =)

    yay! that’s what I wanted. Now, if ya’ll have a second kid, boy or girl, Jude can be his or her body guard. Like Jason was for me.

    …and for the record, by “body guard” I mean Jason beat me up to toughen me up so I could defend myself against others.

  8. Posted January 26, 2009 at 12:51 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Whoo hoo!! So excited for you both!

  9. cooperella
    Posted January 26, 2009 at 1:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I love the name “Jude”! (this could have something to do with Jude Law…). Are you going to release what the name would have been, had it been a girl? 🙂

  10. Elizabeth
    Posted January 26, 2009 at 1:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    We actually hadn’t decided on a girls name for sure – I had a long list that we were going to go through if it was a girl. I don’t want to say that I ‘knew’ it was a boy, but everyone was just so convinced. . . and I did have a dream that it was a boy. . . strange, right?

  11. Posted January 26, 2009 at 3:53 pm | Permalink | Reply

    how exciting! we have names pre-picked for boys, but a long list (and a 2 year ‘discussion’) on girl names…

  12. Posted January 26, 2009 at 4:52 pm | Permalink | Reply

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!! How exciting! I love the name… though I’m feeling a little pressure to start thinking about names. Yikes. 🙂

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

