Cranberry Orange Scones

Ever since I saw Ellie’s post on scones, I have been wanting a scone. I didn’t have several of the ingredients in the recipe the Ellie posted so I searched for a recipe that would allow me to make the scones without a trip to the grocery store. Lo and behold, a recipe existed. And it was very good. The texture was slightly less dense and more moist than a traditional scone, but I thought it was delicious, especially straight from the over with a bit of butter and a cup of tea. One thing that I did that I thought would be worth passing on, I only baked 12 and froze the other 12 to be baked at a later time. Scones are best when fresh and bake beautifully right out of the freezer. I also used dried cranberries with no problem and topped them with turbinado sugar after rubbing the tops with a little bit of milk to help the sugar stick. I’m thinking about making another batch of these to freeze so that I can always bake up just a few here and there whenever I would like another scone. 🙂

And just a side note, I read this blog post today and it made me hate high fructose corn syrup even more than I did previously. Stupid over processed food that we eat every day.

Recipe for Cranberry Orange Scones


(Another great picture by Jason! Isn’t he getting good?)

5 Comments

  1. Posted January 27, 2009 at 10:27 am | Permalink | Reply

    Wow Mecury? That is so scary. I read the back of every label now. Thanks for all the great info.

  2. Posted January 27, 2009 at 10:44 am | Permalink | Reply

    Those look great! I love scones! My mom had been given a bag of orange flavored craisins (weird) that she passed on to me and I thought maybe those would be good in scones – especially if they are supposed to be cranberry orange!

    Those commercials for high fructose corn syrup kill me!

  3. Kelli
    Posted January 27, 2009 at 10:45 am | Permalink | Reply

    I absolutely LOVE cranberry-orange scones! They are my favorite! These looks so good!

  4. Posted January 27, 2009 at 3:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Mmm, I love scones. I haven’t attempted to make any yet, but it looks like it’s about time! Yum!

  5. Posted January 27, 2009 at 11:55 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I have never made scones before, but these look really good. Maybe this weekend!

One Trackback

  1. By Dreamy Cranberry Cream Scones « think liz. on January 26, 2010 at 10:03 am

    […] work so well. The pastry blender? Easy. So I decided to try and make some scones. I’ve made some before and they were good, but I think these may be better. I mean, the liquid was cream. There was […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

