Whole Wheat Pancakes

I decided Friday night that I wanted to make pancakes Saturday morning. Since I’m trying to get away from prepackaged items since you never know what in the world could be mixed in with them, I decided it couldn’t be too hard to make my own pancake mix. I was right. It’s not hard at all and you can premix it and store it in your pantry if you’d like. I made the full batch of dry ingredients and only used half and stored the rest (I split the wet ingredients in half to add to the half of the dry ingredients). I didn’t have dried buttermilk so I used dried non fat milk in it’s place. I also didn’t make the fancy syrup since I didn’t have any berries, but I think it would be a nice addition if you wanted to try it. I don’t think Jason was a big fan of these pancakes because they really taste like they are made of whole wheat, and they have a bit of a crunch because of the corn meal but I enjoyed them and they kept me full until lunch!

Recipe for Whole Wheat Pancakes

7 Comments

  1. nini
    Posted January 28, 2009 at 9:51 am | Permalink | Reply

    beth, your blog makes me so hungry. i have always been obsessed with pancakes, and everything you post looks so delicious/fun/exciting. congrats on the baby coming! i can’t believe it. you guys picked a cute name too. take care. -nini

  2. limeandlemon
    Posted January 28, 2009 at 11:14 am | Permalink | Reply

    yummy .. love the photo .. looks delicious .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com

  3. Posted January 28, 2009 at 5:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Oh my. You just made this pregnant girl VERY hungry.

  4. elliek
    Posted January 28, 2009 at 5:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Fun! I made whole wheat waffles last night! I just added whole wheat flour to recipe I already had. I always like it when they add the cornmeal to pancakes because it makes them seem more like griddle cakes!

  5. Posted January 30, 2009 at 12:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’ve decided that I can no longer look at your blog until after lunch. 🙂

  6. Kristamas
    Posted January 30, 2009 at 7:08 pm | Permalink | Reply

    That photo is great! Mmmmmmm, I want some!

  7. sharon
    Posted February 2, 2009 at 4:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    They look great. I have tried the organic premix from something Hills and honestly I just can’t enjoy them as much as the pancakes from Cracker Barrel. I have tried twice. It doesn’t provide any comfort. Maybe a little experimenting is needed.

One Trackback

  1. […] 14 tags: breakfast, pancakes, recipe, Recipes by Elizabeth I know I’ve written about Whole Wheat Pancakes, which are good in a stick to your ribs, get you through the morning without being hungry sort of […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

