Kimono Robe and Stomach Sickness

So this is the first project to be made from the stash of fabric that we picked up last weekend. The fabric is a little cartoon-y, but I thought it was appropriate for an Asian inspired robe. . . I had been wanting to make myself one of these robes since I made Jason’s mom one for Christmas. So I cut everything out Wednesday night, sewed it all up just to have my sewing machine quit at the belt loops. Time to take it apart again! At least the machine quit after the bulk of the project was complete and the robe was wearable. Someday I will get a sewing machine that doesn’t quit on me so regularly.

Whew, I look rough in that photo (and for good reason). Little did I know that this robe was going to come in handy the following couple of days. I woke up Thursday morning with a NASTY stomach bug, threw on my robe and curled up on the couch while Jason went and picked up various items to help settle my unsettleable stomach and bring my fever down. I am home from work on day two with this bug, feeling exponentially better but still more queasy than I should be feeling. At least today I feel well enough to curl up with a book so maybe I’ll get some reading done. 🙂

Happy Friday everyone and I hope that none of y’all end up with this nasty stomach bug that seems to be going around!

7 Comments

  1. elliek
    Posted January 30, 2009 at 11:11 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m so sorry you’re sick but so jealous of how productive you are! The robe looks great – it’s such fun fabric!

  2. Kristamas
    Posted January 30, 2009 at 7:10 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I like the fabric too! It’s brighter than most of the stuff you use, but it’s fun 🙂

  3. Chance
    Posted February 3, 2009 at 2:07 am | Permalink | Reply

    Ha, toys are always better than practicality anyways. So, random unrelated question: I think you recently purchased an Immersion Blender, or you have had one, either way, why did you buy the one you did? What brand/blender is it? Do you like it? What features do you like and dislike?

    If you can’t tell, I’m in the market.

  4. Posted February 8, 2009 at 11:49 am | Permalink | Reply

    I love the fabric! I have this on the list.

  5. Kerrie
    Posted April 19, 2009 at 10:33 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hi. That looks super! Can I ask what size you made it in? I’ve heard that the pattern runs big.

    • Elizabeth
      Posted April 20, 2009 at 8:33 am | Permalink | Reply

      I made it in the medium size, which is my typical size for clothing. I didn’t find that it ran too large, but I was also around 4 months pregnant at this time too!

  6. Posted April 20, 2009 at 2:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Super. Same here – although I’m 6 months pregnant. Nice to get some sewing done before th ebaby arrives! I think I’ll make a medium too. Thanks!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

