Yellow Softie Monster

I was bored last night while Jason was out watching the super bowl, and although I was still feeling woozy on the couch, I decided to take the excess time to begin on the softies collection I have envisioned for Jude. (I know, I’m making him toys before anything practical? Right. I am.) I saw this photo awhile back and knew I had to try to replicate that little monster. He needs a name. Anyone have any suggestions?

As you can see, Malachi claimed him as his new friend. Oh the rude awakening for that poor cat in a couple of months! Anyways, once ‘yellow monster’ has a name, I’ll post a line drawing pdf of him so that you guys can replicate him too (is anyone interested?). He could take on all sorts of variations. I think he’d be a lot of fun with some big felt eyes and maybe a necktie. I just sewed on some buttons and stitched him up a little mouth. Nice and simple. I like him because he’s reminiscent of a bat, and if you know anything about Austin, we love our bats down here.

Now, on to some sock monkeys, various food item softies, and maybe a few other monsters. 🙂 (Have I mentioned I have a soft spot in my heart for weird softies?) Maybe someday I will work on something that is a little more of a necessity!

9 Comments

  1. Posted February 2, 2009 at 11:39 am | Permalink | Reply

    So cute! And he does look like a bat!

  2. Jason
    Posted February 2, 2009 at 12:20 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Is there any danger of Jude biting off and swallowing those button eyes?

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted February 2, 2009 at 12:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Yeah, but I’ll probably be replacing the buttons with white felt and stitched eyes before Jude is to the point where he’s biting on anything – I just didn’t have any last night and I really wanted to finish the monster.

  4. nickiberthiaume
    Posted February 2, 2009 at 2:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I think he looks like and Oscar.

    I would love to know how to make him!

  5. Posted February 3, 2009 at 12:24 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I have been seeing this little guy all over now…Here’s another one.

  6. Posted February 3, 2009 at 12:26 pm | Permalink | Reply

    like amanda posted – he is like ‘ice bat’ ugly doll. i like him, i vote for ‘yellow moster’ i like simple names.

  7. Elizabeth
    Posted February 3, 2009 at 12:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Love it! He’s a ‘Little Ugly’ apparently – my coworkers were talking about this line of softies the other day at lunch.

  8. Posted February 3, 2009 at 1:43 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I adore it. Oh man. So cute. Another reason to learn to sew. Still…it’s gonna be a while. (:

  9. purewhitelily
    Posted February 3, 2009 at 7:00 pm | Permalink | Reply

    You should name it Mack. Cute monster!

One Trackback

  1. […] simple it is. . . sorry about that! I finally created a pdf of the pattern for the softie monster I made awhile back that I promised you guys. He seemed appropriate for a posting on Friday the […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

