Carrot Soup with Dill Pesto

In honor of national carrot day, I thought I would whip up a little something something for this veggie. This recipe appealed to me because it had relatively few ingredients and I like dill. I was surprised at how such simple ingredients made such a tasty soup! A few interesting carrot facts?

  • The tops of carrots should be removed before storing them in the refrigerator. Tops will drain the carrots of moisture, making them limp and dry. No one likes a limp carrot. You can grow the tops into a bushy carrot plant (no new carrot is formed though).
  • One cup of raw carrots contains about 52 calories and has 16,679 IU of beta-carotene.
  • The longest carrot ever recorded was nearly 17 feet long.
  • The carrot is a member of the parsley family including species such as celery, parsnip, fennel, dill and coriander.
  • The Ancient Greeks called the carrot a philtron, which translates to “love charm.” They believed the carrot made both men and women more amorous. Maybe something to consider when making your v-day dinner?

And just a little tip, Yes to Carrots is running some specials ($2 off printable coupon on their website) on their products since it’s national carrot day. I like their shampoo and conditioner since there are no parabens, no SLS (this is in progress over 2009), the price is right and they have a commitment not to test on animals (and really, it just smells so dang good!).

Carrot Soup with Dill Pesto

13 Comments

  1. Posted February 3, 2009 at 9:15 am | Permalink | Reply

    Maybe they haven’t gotten the new bottles of Yes to Carrots at my Walgreens, but I went and checked them out and they do say No Parabens, but they still had SLS in them or some other version of it.

  2. Posted February 3, 2009 at 9:16 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hmmm…interesting!

  3. Posted February 3, 2009 at 9:20 am | Permalink | Reply

    Actually now that I have gone and looked at their website, they do list the new ingredients that they are changing to over the course of 2009 and they are using Sodium Coceth Sulfate instead. Now I see how they are getting away with saying they are SLS free…however, they are still using a partially synthethic ingredient.

    Wikipedia says Sodium Coceth Sulfate is a semisynthetic detergent-like compound derived from fatty acids obtained from coconut oil, modified using ethylene oxide (oxirane). It is a milder foaming agent found in baby cleansers, gels, and cleaners.

  4. Elizabeth
    Posted February 3, 2009 at 9:46 am | Permalink | Reply

    Yeah the bottles that I have have Sodium Coceth Sulfate instead of SLS.

  5. Posted February 3, 2009 at 11:35 am | Permalink | Reply

    Beth, do you think I could take this recipe and add coriander to the soup? And at what point should I add it too, maybe before you puree it?

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted February 3, 2009 at 11:40 am | Permalink | Reply

    Lynn- I don’t think dill and coriander play well together so I might go for a recipe more like this one. You would, as the recipe directs, add the coriander to the hot oil in the beginning to make it fragrant and most flavorful before adding the rest of the ingredients.

  7. Posted February 3, 2009 at 11:47 am | Permalink | Reply

    MMmmmmm Thankyou! I didn’t even think about dill and coriander together.

  8. jownby
    Posted February 3, 2009 at 3:03 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Martha Stewart did a segment on her show today about Yes to Carrots. Have you tried to other kinds? Tomatos?

  9. Elizabeth
    Posted February 3, 2009 at 3:06 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I have not tried the other kinds yet, but I will probably print out the coupon when I get home for that very purpose! I’ll report back as to what I think about them. . .

  10. Posted February 3, 2009 at 3:14 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Maybe I am too hard core about this…I just can’t justify paying more for shampoo if it has the same stuff in it as cheap stuff like Suave.

  11. Elizabeth
    Posted February 3, 2009 at 3:23 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I was using suave for a long time (all through college and right up until the no ‘poo phase) and this just makes my hair feel better in all honesty. I also like knowing that the company supports environmental issues and no animal cruelty. They have a fund called the Seed Fund that helps fund organic gardening and farming. I’d rather pay a little more (it’s not like I’m paying $20 a bottle or anything!) and support a company that is supporting something that I agree with, like organic farming (much like Tom’s of Maine – it’s not my favorite tasting toothpaste but I love their mission and will pay to support it).

  12. Posted February 3, 2009 at 3:29 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I don’t disagree with supporting companies that you believe in…I guess the difference between our choices is that I am trying to eliminate the chemicals and regardless of if I approve and support a company’s values and mission, I am not going to spend money on a product when it has things in it that I don’t want to use. That was all I was thinking…

  13. Posted February 4, 2009 at 8:37 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Elizabeth,

    Glad you celebrated National Carrot Day with some delicious looking carrot soup.

    Great to hear you’ve been enjoying our Yes To Carrots shampoo and conditioner. Thanks for your comments.

    Would love to send you some free samples as a thank you.

    Here’s the form

    http://tinyurl.com/5fqgmn

    Let me know if you have any questions.

    And thanks again!

    Jeremy

    carrotattache@yestocarrots.com

    PS. If you are interested, Yes to Carrots is also on Facebook-

    http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=2471023054

    and Twitter (twitter.com/yestocarrots.com)

One Trackback

  1. By Kansas Times « Trying Out Domestic Life on February 16, 2009 at 11:33 pm

    […] had used the recipe for carrot soup taken from Elizabeth Carroll’s blog. I did, however, change a few things. I needed to triple the recipe and we didn’t have any […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

