Sewing and surprise secrets!

I’m pretty excited. You want to know why? Well, Jason surprised me by buying me a new sewing machine. You see the machine that Amanda is sewing on in the picture on the left? That’s my new machine, the Singer Confidence 7470. That’s right – the machine I sewed on at Maker Faire. The one that I sewed on while exclaiming ‘It drives like a luxury car! My machine is like the economical sedan’. And it’s going to get here sometime this week! Ahhh!

He purchased it Thursday evening, while I was helping a friend sewing a quick ring sling and the machine just kept error-ing. Apparently he had already done a bunch of research on different machines, so he logged onto amazon and bought the refurbished machine (complete with warranty – yay!). Of course, he can’t keep a secret for long, so once he spilled the beans about my surprise [which happened when I asked if we could use some money from our tax return so I could get a new sewing machine – to which he replied ‘We could do that, or you could just wait until next week when you’re new one gets here in the mail], I decided to stop sewing and just concentrate on cutting out the projects that I wanted to work on with my new machine (oh, I get so excited just THINKING about it)! I did manage to finish up a couple of projects on my machine before Jason spilled the beans, so I thought I’d share.

The first was turning a pair of too short maternity jeans that I got on craigslist into a maternity jean skirt. I used this tutorial for turning jeans into a jean skirt and it translated fine with the maternity jeans. I’ve already received a couple of compliments on my skirt. 🙂 Makes me feel pretty good when people say they can’t even tell that I refashioned it. . . I would say to consider adding a back slit or side slits on the skirt (which I will probably do, and re-hem with my new machine [yay!]) because, I love the shape but it’s a bit hard to walk in. Short steps. . . not how I normally walk.

Next, I finished up a sling for my friend’s husband. Pretty funny. . . camo . . . oh my!

And here’s the queue of projects that I have cut out (with more still to be cut). My sling (which I’m considering modifying to look like this, which I’m sure will be one of many. . .), a diaper changing pad, a bunch of bibs and the baby quilt (all along the bottom and the brown binding up the side)! I can’t wait to start sewing these things up!

The square of green and blue big polka dotted fabrics and the darker blue border (far right) will also be the fabric I use to the make the crib bumper. I’m holding off on that because the foam bumper inserts are $20 and I’m trying to find them somewhere local so I don’t have to pay shipping. I am contemplating switching the 3rd square over to the blue fabric I used to make my friend’s baby sling. I think I have enough scrap of that left over to get three 4.5″ squares out of. . . what do y’all think? Does that fabric work with the rest of the fabrics?

6 Comments

  1. kaylebug
    Posted February 10, 2009 at 11:57 am | Permalink | Reply

    That’s so exciting!! I was so excited when Brandon bought my machine. He told my mom when it was going to arrive and that I was not allowed to see it until he could set it up. However, that sis not work, we were leaving for a funeral, and Aaron said “Kayle there’s a huge package for you.”
    haha.

  2. Posted February 10, 2009 at 1:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m so happy for you and your new machine! Way to go Jason – so thoughtful.

    Look at you cutting everything out! It’s so nice when you are ready to sew to actually sew instead of spending hours cutting stuff out!

    I have used the green and blue polka dot fabric before – for a purse lining and I think maybe on something else…it’s great fabric!

    Jude is going to be stylin’ his new bibs!

  3. Posted February 10, 2009 at 4:18 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I’m glad I could make you happy my love. 😀

  4. jownby
    Posted February 10, 2009 at 7:41 pm | Permalink | Reply

    A new sewing machine….how exciting!

  5. Posted February 11, 2009 at 7:28 pm | Permalink | Reply

    i love what you are making! are you using a pattern for the bumper?

  6. Elizabeth
    Posted February 12, 2009 at 9:48 am | Permalink | Reply

    Thanks! I am using a pattern for the bumper – it’s in Amy Butler’s Little Stitches book. I like it because it has some pockets to store toys and books in!

One Trackback

  1. By Some of the same sewing. . . « think liz. on December 29, 2009 at 9:31 am

    […] sewing. . . My sewing machine recently kicked the bucket beyond repair. Stinks, right? I just got her in February and she did some good sewing but she was a refurbished machine. I think I’ve learned that you […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

