Fleur De Sel Caramels

For some reason, I had been wanting to make fleur de sel caramel. I really like sweet and salty together and the fleur de sel caramel truffle I had in Portland has been weighing on my mind as just being one of the most delicious morsels. . . yum. So, I tried my hand at candy making, once more. I think I’ve lamented about how much I dislike tempering chocolate and how difficult it is to get caramel just to the right golden color. . . but all in all, candy making isn’t really THAT difficult. Although, I wish I had known the temperature to take the sugar mixture to so I could achieve the rich golden color that caramel normally is. . . I think I also could have boiled the sugar/cream mixture just a little bit longer, because it didn’t stay set in any shape for an extended period of time. When I rolled out and cut little circles, they eventually ‘melted’ down into round puddles. So I dipped them in dark chocolate. 🙂 At least the caramel will stay contained now! I think, if I make these again, I might reduce the salt just a bit. I might have been just a little over eager to have salt caramel that I oversalted it. 🙂

Recipe for Fleur De Sel Caramels

4 Comments

  1. Posted February 11, 2009 at 2:59 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I was just in Whole Foods and saw the Fleur de sel! I almost got some. Instead I got some smoked sea salt that they talked about in our culinary class!

  2. Posted February 11, 2009 at 5:21 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Hey did you know that sweet and salt is a common pregnancy craving! HEHEHE!!! Love you much!

  3. Elizabeth
    Posted February 11, 2009 at 6:25 pm | Permalink | Reply

    This is true, but even before I was pregnant, my favorite snacks are the salt/sweet combos. Oooh like chocolate covered pretzels and salt water taffy. Yuuuummmm!

  4. pearl
    Posted February 12, 2009 at 1:38 am | Permalink | Reply

    i waaaaant one

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

