Hot Chocolate Fudge.

I will say I have allowed myself to be a little more decadent in my food choices in the past couple of months. I haven’t really felt a desire to eat MORE food to get the calories I need, but I will say I have eaten some more calorie dense food. 🙂 Enter the Fleur de Sel Caramels I recently posted about. Well, I had leftover bittersweet chocolate in a bowl. What to do, what to do. . . I had a memory of Ellie making some delicious homemade hot fudge for a fun gathering we had a couple years ago so I searched for a couple easy recipes and found this one. Now, I know a lot of people are trying to stay away from high fructose corn syrup (and it’s found in virtually all chocolate syrups and sauces), so this could be a good option if that’s your aim. Although, you’ll notice in the recipe that it calls for corn syrup (which is different than HFCS but still can contain HFCS). This is easily substituted for Golden Syrup (which is essentially sugarcane juice). I had some corn syrup at home, so I used just a drizzle of it to thin the mixture out. I would imagine simple reduced sugar water could work too, but I can’t verify that.

I will say that it. Was. Delicious.

Recipe for Hot Fudge Sauce

6 Comments

  1. Posted February 12, 2009 at 9:34 am | Permalink | Reply

    So fun! I actually made my chocolate sauce on Monday night! The one I make doesn’t have any syrup in it…I think it’s 2 T of butter, 2 bittersweet chocolate squares, 1/4 c evaporated milk, and 1 tsp vanilla!

  2. Posted February 12, 2009 at 9:35 am | Permalink | Reply

    Oh yeah, and sugar…I think maybe 1/2 a cup?

  3. Posted February 12, 2009 at 9:35 am | Permalink | Reply

    Ok, so I just submitted that last comment and got a screen that said “You are submitting comments too quickly. Slow down.” 🙂

  4. Posted February 12, 2009 at 5:36 pm | Permalink | Reply

    uno mas por favor

    (probably butchered that)

    and to Ellie…SLOW DOWN CRAZY WOMAN!

  5. Posted February 13, 2009 at 9:41 am | Permalink | Reply

    I’m making this tonight. Yum.

  6. pearl
    Posted February 13, 2009 at 8:46 pm | Permalink | Reply

    http://www.wikihow.com/Make-Cake-in-a-Mug

One Trackback

  1. By Butterscotch Sauce « think liz. on January 4, 2010 at 11:14 am

    […] is so easy! If you like butterscotch, you must try this! Maybe make some vanilla bean ice cream, hot chocolate fudge, marshmallows and crumble some toffee over top for a sundae party? Sounds good to […]

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

